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AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
22:2, 22:11, 22:1897, and the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S.
49:950, et seq.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 49:494 (March 2023).

Chapter 193. Regulation Number
128—L.ouisiana Agriculture

Transportation Group Self-Insurance
Funds

§19301. Definitions

A. When used in this regulation, the following words or
terms shall have the following meaning.

Contingent Liability—the amount that a group self-
insurance fund may be obligated to pay in excess of a given
fund year’s normal premium collected or on hand.

Department—the Louisiana Department of Insurance.

Group Self-Insurance Fund or Fund—employers who
enter into agreements to pool their automobile liabilities for
timber transportation vehicles, agriculture transportation
vehicles, or a combination of both types of vehicles in
accordance with Louisiana Revised Statutes 3:4351.2.

Members Distribution Payable/Surplus—assets of a
group self-insurance fund in excess of loss reserves, actual
and contingent liabilities and loss development reserves in
all fund years.

Surplus—assets of a group self-insurance fund in excess
of loss reserves, actual and contingent liabilities and loss
development reserves in all fund years.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
3:4351.9(D).

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 49:1411 (August 2023).

§19303. Excess Insurance or Reinsurance

A. All funds shall maintain specific excess insurance or
reinsurance in the amount of at least $2,000,000 per
occurrence and aggregate excess insurance or reinsurance of
at least $2,000,000.

B. The maximum retention allowed for the fund’s
specific excess policy shall be approved by the department.

1. A fund shall submit a feasibility study prepared by
a qualified actuary which analyzes the impact the specific
retention on the fund.

2. No fund shall secure a retention which in the
commissioner's opinion is not actuarially sound.
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3. The commissioner shall deny the use of a retention
if he finds that the higher retention will have a significant
adverse effect on the financial condition of the fund.

C. The fund shall secure an aggregate limit of at least 20
percent of the annual premium of the fund for the term of the
policy. The retention of the aggregate policy shall be subject
to the approval of the commissioner.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
3:4351.3.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 49:1411 (August 2023),
amended LR 50:1853 (December 2024).

§19305. Financial and Actuarial Reports
A. Atinception, each fund shall either:

1. Provide evidence satisfactory to the commissioner
that it possesses surplus in excess of $1,000,000, or

2. Submit a current audited financial statement,
audited by an independent certified public accountant, of at
least two members showing, at the inception of the fund, a
combined net worth of a minimum of $1,000,000, current
financial statements of all other members, a combined ratio
of current assets to current liabilities of more than one to
one, a combined working capital of an amount establishing
financial strength and liquidity of the members to pay
normal compensation claims promptly, and showing
evidence of the financial ability of the group to meet its
obligations. An audited or a financial statement properly
certified by an officer, owner, or partner for all members
joining the fund after the inception date shall be submitted to
the commissioner until such time as an audited financial
statement is available for the fund as a whole. Thereafter, the
filing of member financial statements with the department is
no longer required. In no event shall the cumulative net
worth or ratio of the current assets to current liabilities of all
members be less than that required in this Subsection.

B. An annual financial statement audited by an
independent certified public accountant shall be due
annually within six months of the close of the fiscal year of

the fund, wunless an extension is granted by the
commissioner.
C. In lieu of an audited financial statement, the

department may require that the fund submit necessary
financial documents in a form and manner approved by the
department to verify the combined net worth of those
members or principals.

D. Actual reviews shall be made by a qualified actuary.
Actuarial reports shall be due and filed at the same time as
the fund’s annual financial statement, except as otherwise
provided by the commissioner.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
3:4351.3.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 49:1411 (August 2023),
amended LR 50:1853 (December 2024).



Title 37, Part XIII

§19307. Insolvencies

A. Pursuant to R.S. 3:4351.9(D)(1), a fund subject to
delinquency proceedings shall be governed by the applicable
provisions of R.S. 22:731, et seq., pertaining to
administrative supervisions, or the applicable provisions of
R. S. 22:2001, et seq., pertaining to receivership, that are not
inconsistent with the provisions of R. S. 3:4351.1, et seq.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
3:4351.9.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 49:1412 (August 2023).

§19309. Cease and Desist Orders and Other Penalties

A.l. After notice and opportunity for a hearing, the
commissioner may issue an order requiring a person or
group to cease and desist from engaging in an act or practice
found to be not in compliance with R.S. 3:4351, et seq. or
with any rule promulgated by the department pursuant to the
Administrative Procedure Act or order or directive issued by
the department. Any cease and desist order issued under this
Section may include a prohibition against the fund writing
any new or renewal business.

2. After notice and opportunity for a hearing, the
commissioner may suspend or revoke the certificate of
authority of the fund found to be not in compliance with R.S.
3:4351, et seq. or with any rule promulgated by the
department pursuant to the Administrative Procedure Act or
order or directive issued by the department.

B. Upon the determination that the fund failed to comply
with any provision of R.S. 3.4351 et seq., any rule or
regulation promulgated by the department, or orders or
directed issued by the commissioner, the department may
levy a fine of up to $2,000 for each violation.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
3:4351.5.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 49:1409 (August 2023),
amended LR 50:1853 (December 2024).

§19311. Examinations

A. The commissioner shall examine, not less frequently
than once every five years, and at any other time when an
examination is necessary in the opinion of the commissioner,
all group self-insurance funds established pursuant to R.S.
3:4351 et seq. The reasonable expenses of such
examinations shall be paid by the fund being examined.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
3:4351.5.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 49:1412 (August 2023).

Chapter 195. Regulation 127—The
Hurricane Property Insurance Claim
Alternate Dispute Resolution Program
§19501. Authority

A. Regulation 127 is promulgated on behalf of the
Department of Insurance by the Commissioner of Insurance
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pursuant to the authority granted under the Louisiana
Insurance Code, R.S. 22:11, and as specifically instructed in
accordance with R.S. 22:2657.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
22:2,22:11, 22:2651, et seq., and the Administrative Procedure Act,
R.S. 49:950, et seq.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 49:900 (May 2023).

§19503. Purpose

A. The purpose of Regulation 127 is to establish rules
and regulations pertaining to the hurricane mediation
program, codified at R.S. 22:2651, et seq., in accordance
with Act 591 of the 2022 Regular Session of the Louisiana
Legislature.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
22:2,22:11,22:2651, et seq., and the Administrative Procedure Act,
R.S. 49:950, et seq.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 49:900 (May 2023).

§19505. Scope and Applicability

A. Regulation 127 applies to all property and casualty
insurers of residential property situated in a geographical
area that is included in a state of emergency declaration
issued by the governor of Louisiana in response to a
hurricane, named storm, or named windstorm event.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
22:2,22:11, 22:2651, et seq., and the Administrative Procedure Act,
R.S. 49:950, et seq.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 49:900 (May 2023).

§19507. Definitions

A. These terms when used in this Chapter shall have the
following meanings.

Commissioner—the  Louisiana ~ Commissioner  of

Insurance.
Department—the Louisiana Department of Insurance.

Disclosure Notice—a written notification issued by
insurers to insureds disclosing the existence of the hurricane
mediation program as required in R.S. 22:2656.

Governor—the governor of the state of Louisiana.

Hurricane  Mediation ~ Program—the  “Hurricane
Property Insurance Claim Alternate Dispute Resolution
Program” set forth in Chapter 22 of Title 22 of the Louisiana
Revised Statutes of 1950, at R.S. 22:2651, et seq.

Mediation Firm—an entity or person that has elected to
participate in the hurricane mediation program, complies
with all requirements set forth in R.S. 22:2654, meets the
qualifications set forth in R.S. 9:4106, and is listed as an
approved mediation firm on the department’s website.

Parties—the insured and insurer, collectively.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
22:2,22:11, 22:2651, et seq., and the Administrative Procedure Act,
R.S. 49:950, et seq.
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