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Following the conclusion of the 2016 First Extraordinary Legislative Session, we have now entered 

the Regular Session and once again the Louisiana Department of Insurance (LDI) is working with 

legislators on a number of measures we hope will better serve consumers and industry.  

In the area of property and casualty, our legislative package includes a measure, HB 559, that 

would prohibit the use of aftermarket, non-original parts when they affect the operation of air bags 

and anti-lock braking systems. Our legislation states that a non-Original Equipment Manufacturer 

safety part may only be used if an OEM part is not commercially available. If a non-OEM part is 

used to repair a vehicle, the vehicle owner must be advised in writing. 

Another bill we are proposing, HB 839, would implement the Louisiana Property Insurance 

Mediation Program as an optional dispute resolution procedure. Our legislation establishes a 

process for mediation and what types of property claims would be eligible for mediation. 

Residential and commercial residential properties (such as apartment buildings) would be eligible. 

The cost of mediation would be paid by the insurer. 

Following Hurricanes Katrina and Rita, Louisiana implemented a very successful mediation program 

that was designed to serve as a non-adversarial alternative to litigation. Of the more than 12,000 

cases in the program, 80 percent were settled prior to or during mediation. During the Hurricane 

Katrina Mediation Program, many policyholders were satisfied because there was no cost involved 

for them; they felt more involved; and it helped them reach a settlement quicker, expediting the 

process of rebuilding.  

We are also proposing two measures regarding Louisiana Citizens Property Insurance Corporation. 

The first would limit sales of policies issued by Citizens to resident licensed producers. A second bill 

we are proposing would prohibit the recovery of penalties in class action lawsuits against Citizens.  

In the area of health, HB 836 provides for the Department’s prior approval of major medical health 

rates. Louisiana is one a handful of states without approval authority over health insurance rates. 

According to Pricewaterhouse Coopers, states with rate approval authority had final rates in 2015 

that were 2.9 percent lower than what was initially proposed by issuers. 

Under current law, I review and approve rates for most other types of insurance in Louisiana – from 

homeowners and auto insurance to long-term care. There should not be an exemption for health 

insurers and our proposal would help ensure consumers receive value for their premium dollars. 

This bill giving us authority to review and approve rates is a commonsense measure that would 

maintain local control instead of handing that authority to the federal government. 

http://www.legis.la.gov/legis/BillInfo.aspx?s=16RS&b=HB559&sbi=y
http://www.legis.la.gov/legis/BillInfo.aspx?s=16RS&b=HB839&sbi=y
http://www.legis.la.gov/legis/BillInfo.aspx?s=16RS&b=HB836&sbi=y


We are also proposing legislation that will attempt to protect consumers from “surprise bills” for 

any services that arise as the result of an emergency condition. HB 412 would require a health care 

provider who is not under contract with a health insurance issuer to file a claim with the issuer – 

and that non-contracted provider would then be paid by the issuer according to certain guidelines. 

Our legislation would also prohibit non-contracted providers from surprise billing insureds in 

emergency situations, except for the amounts the insured is responsible for.  

SB 193 addresses network adequacy. The use of narrow networks by qualified health plans, or 

QHPs, sold on both state-based and federally facilitated exchanges has received a great deal of 

attention in recent years; but issues related to network adequacy are nothing new. Ever since 

insurers began using networks, there have been concerns regarding their ability to meet consumer 

needs and state regulators have been examining network arrangements to ensure that they 

provide sufficient access to care for consumers. 

The National Association of Insurance Commissioners (NAIC) has worked on updating its Network 

Adequacy Model for some time. Our legislation significantly mirrors the NAIC’s model law that 

provides regulatory flexibility to allow innovative plan designs - but still protect the consumer’s 

access to necessary healthcare providers.  

We also have a proposed bill, HB 865 that makes some changes in the area of producer licensing. 

Our current law calls for someone seeking a producer license to first submit an application to the 

Department – and the next step would be to take and pass a licensing examination. Our proposed 

legislation would allow an applicant to first take the exam, and once they have passed they would 

apply for a license. Typically, the passage rate for first-time test takers is about 50 percent.  The 

intent of this legislation is to streamline the application process so that we are not processing 

applications from applicants who do not pass the exam and later change their minds about 

becoming a producer.  

We are also putting forth legislation, HB 352 that will require insurance producers and licensed 

claims adjusters to maintain their records of transactions with clients for at least five years. 

Currently insurance companies are already required to maintain some of these records; requiring 

that producers and adjusters also retain them would be consistent with the requirement for 

companies. 

We are addressing the growing threat of cyber breaches with a bill that would require anyone 

regulated by the Department of Insurance to notify us if they experience a data breach. SB 103 

requires also requires notification to the LDI if a third-party service provider they conduct business 

with experiences a security breach that involves the personal information or protected health 

information of Louisiana residents. 

Notification to the Department would have to occur within ten days of discovery of a data breach. 

Additional information required by the Department would include the number of people affected 

both in Louisiana and outside of the state, as well as a copy of the notification to be sent to those 

http://www.legis.la.gov/legis/BillInfo.aspx?s=16RS&b=HB412&sbi=y
http://www.legis.la.gov/legis/BillInfo.aspx?s=16RS&b=SB193&sbi=y
http://www.legis.la.gov/legis/BillInfo.aspx?s=16RS&b=HB865&sbi=y
http://www.legis.la.gov/legis/BillInfo.aspx?s=16RS&b=HB352&sbi=y
http://www.legis.la.gov/legis/BillInfo.aspx?s=16RS&b=SB103&sbi=y


impacted. The legislation would also give me the authority to order specific corrective actions such 

as providing credit monitoring services for those affected by the breach. 

Louisiana, like most states, has an existing state law that requires notifications be sent to residents 

whose personal information has been accessed – and that the Attorney General be notified. But 

that law addresses consumer notifications only and there is no current requirement that the 

information be reported to the Department of Insurance. A handful of other states including 

Montana, Washington, Vermont, Connecticut and Massachusetts have laws requiring notification 

to the state insurance regulator. 

As always I encourage you to become involved in the legislative process by logging into the 

Legislature’s website at www.legis.la.gov. You can also connect with the Louisiana Department of 

Insurance on social media by following us on Twitter @LAInsuranceDept for updates on the status 

of LDI bills. I look forward to a successful and productive session and, as always, welcome your 

input on measures that will help us foster an effective regulatory environment. 
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