Studying for the Exam

The Examination Content Outlines can be found in
the Louisiana Department of Insurance Licensing
Information Bulletin, which is available for
download at www.psiexams.com. The content
outlines are updated periodically and may not be
consistent with outdated study material in study
manuals. Where discrepancies exist, the outlines
take precedence.

In addition to the required prelicensing instruction,
other useful study materials may be obtained from
insurance companies, the company or agency

for which you plan to work, or from an insurance
agent association. The exams contain sections

on Louisiana insurance laws so, it is beneficial

to consult a standard statute reference which is
available at any public or law library.

Keeping your license

All licenses expire on the last day of your birth
month every other year. The following licenses
renew every even-numbered year: Life, Health &
Accident, Limited Life, Health & Accident, Variable,
Credit and Travel. The following licenses renew
every odd-numbered year: Property, Casualty,
Personal Lines, Title, Industrial Fire, Surety, Bail
Bonds and Surplus Lines.

Licensees have two months to renew their license
and renewals are available at www.ldi.la.gov the
month prior to and the month of your birthday.
Renewal reminders are sent via email, so it is
important to keep your contact information
current.

If you allow your license to expire, you have
2 years from the expiration date to have it
reinstated, provided you meet all necessary
requirements.

All Louisiana resident producers must meet
continuing education requirements except those
holding Industrial Fire, Surety or licenses for lines
of authority that require no examination.

For more information on becoming
a producer visit www.ldi.la.gov

All questions and requests for information about
examinations should be directed to:

PSI Services LLC
3210 E. Tropicana
Las Vegas, NV 89121
Phone: 800-733-9267, Fax: 702-932-2666

Email: examschedule@psionline.com
WWW.psiexams.com

Questions about the license application process
should be directed to:

Louisiana Department of Insurance
P.O. Box 94214
Baton Rouge, LA 70804-9214
225-342-0860
www.ldi.la.gov
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Licensing
Requirements

To hold a license, a Louisiana resident must:

e Be at least 18 years of age and competent and
trustworthy,

e Reside in or maintain a principal place of
business in Louisiana,

e Complete a prelicensing education program
and pass an examination (when required),

e Complete a three month apprenticeship with a
licensed producer (Bail Bond applicants only),

e Submit the appropriate forms and fees and be
fingerprinted,

e Be able to provide any and all documentation
reasonably necessary to verify information in
your application,

e Report any convictions of a felony, and when
applicable, acquire 18 USC 1033 written
consent by the Commissioner of Insurance.

If you are not a resident of Louisiana, you must
comply with the following requirements for a
nonresident producer license for Life, Health and
Accident, or Property and Casualty:

e Be at least 18 years of age;

e Bein compliance with continuing education
requirements in your resident state,

e Submit an application and appropriate fee
online via the National Insurance Producer
Registry (NIPR) website at www.nipr.com.

For more information on the license application
process, visit www.ldi.la.gov/industry/producer-
adjuster/license-application.

Prelicensing & Exam
Requirements

Prelicensing education and testing requirements
help ensure a minimum level of knowledge about
the products and services that producers offer to
the public. In addition, license candidates must
understand and comply with the laws and rules
that govern insurance.

Some licenses do not require an examination.
When applying for a license that does not require
an exam, submit an online application and the
appropriate fees online via the National Insurance
Producer Registry’s (NIPR) website at www.nipr.
com. Fees for the different types of licenses vary,
visit www.ldi.la.gov for more information.

PSI Services LLC administers the examination
program. Louisiana has PSI testing centers located
in Baton Rouge, Lafayette, Lake Charles, Metairie,
New Orleans, Pineville and Shreveport. Prior

to testing, a license application must be filed
through the NIPR website. You can register for an
examination within 24 hours of the LDI’s receipt of
the license application.

It is your responsibility to contact PSI to pay and
schedule for an examination. You must pass the
examination within one year from the date of LDI’s
receipt of the license appliction. There is no limit
to the number of times you may take an exam if
you fail during that one year period.

A pre-licensing certificate remains valid for 365
days. An exam registration remains valid for

90 days after PSI has processed it. A license
application is valid for one year after submission.
Registrations and applications then automatically
expire. To reapply, new applications are required,
together with applicable exam and license fees.

Requirements by
License Type

License Type Prelicensing | Exam | Exam
Course Hrs | Series | Fee

Life 20 101 $40

(producer)

Health & Accident 20 102 S40

(producer)

Life, Health & Accident | 40 103 S65

(producer)

Property 20 104 S40

(producer)

Casualty 20 105 $40

(producer)

Property & Casualty 40 106 S65

(producer)

Personal Lines 20 107 S15

(producer)

Bail Bond 8 plus 108 | S$15

(producer) apprentice

Surety 0 109 S15

(producer)

Industrial Fire 0 110 $15

(producer)

Title 0 111 S15

(producer)

Surplus Lines 0 112 S15

(producer)

Automobile 0 201 $15

(claims adjuster)

Personal Lines 0 202 S15

(claims adjuster)

Commercial Lines 0 203 $15

(claims adjuster)

Comprehensive 0 204 S15

(claims adjuster)

Crop 0 205 $15

(claims adjuster)

Public Adjuster 0 301 S15
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