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PURPOSE  

This document is a consolidation of previously issued guidelines and 
instructions for rate and rule filings. It provides Property and Casualty (“P&C”) 
insurers with rate and/or rule filing requirements and outlines the review 
and/or acknowledgement process.  

AUTHORITY   

Louisiana is a File and Use state. Every authorized insurer shall file with the 
commissioner all rates, supplementary rate information, and all supporting 
information for risks to be written by the insurer in this state. The rates and 
information submitted are deemed approved unless the insurer is notified 
otherwise by the commissioner within thirty days of the rate filing. Insurers 
negotiating with and insuring commercial entities, except with regard to 
workers' compensation and medical malpractice insurance, with at least $10,000 
in annual insurance premiums shall file insurance rates or rate changes for such 
entities with the commissioner for informational purposes only. The 
commissioner may by rule, regulation, or order reduce or eliminate the annual 
premium threshold for those entities. The statutes referenced below provide the 
basis of the Office of Property & Casualty’s (OPC) governing authority. Note 
that some pertinent statutes are not found in Louisiana Revised Statutes, Title 22 
(the Louisiana Insurance Code). Nevertheless, those statutes are enforced by the 
OPC and/or the Louisiana Department of Insurance (LDI).  
  
Chapter 4, Part 4, Subpart O of the Louisiana Insurance Code (La. R.S. 22:1 et seq.) 

establishes the authority of the commissioner of insurance to regulate rates and 
rules and provides for rate and rule regulation.  

La. R.S. 22:1451 states that every authorized insurer shall file with the 
commissioner all rates, supplementary rate information, and all supporting 
information for risks to be written by the insurer in this state. The rates and 
information submitted pursuant to this Subpart are deemed approved unless 
the insurer is notified otherwise by the commissioner within 30 days of the 
rate filing. 

La. R.S. 22:1452 states that the purpose of the commissioner of insurance in the 
regulation of rates and rules is to promote public welfare by regulating 
insurance rates so that the rates shall not be excessive, inadequate, or unfairly 
discriminatory.  

La. R.S. 22:1456 sets forth the scope of the commissioner’s authority to regulate 
rates by line of business.   

La. R.S. 22:1464 provides that insurers are subject to rate regulation and that 
insurers shall file and support every manual premium, minimum premium,  

 

https://legis.la.gov/Legis/Law.aspx?d=508398
http://www.legis.state.la.us/
http://www.legis.state.la.us/
http://www.legis.state.la.us/
http://www.legis.state.la.us/
http://www.legis.state.la.us/
http://www.legis.state.la.us/
http://www.legis.state.la.us/
http://www.legis.state.la.us/
http://www.legis.state.la.us/
http://www.legis.state.la.us/
http://www.legis.state.la.us/
http://www.legis.state.la.us/
http://www.legis.state.la.us/
http://www.legis.state.la.us/
http://www.legis.state.la.us/
http://www.legis.state.la.us/
http://www.legis.state.la.us/
http://www.legis.state.la.us/
http://www.legis.state.la.us/
http://www.legis.state.la.us/
http://www.legis.state.la.us/
http://www.legis.state.la.us/
http://www.legis.state.la.us/
http://www.legis.state.la.us/
http://www.legis.state.la.us/


June 2025 Edition   

2   

 
 
class rate, rating schedule, rating plan, rating rule, and every modification of any 
of the foregoing which the insurer proposes to use.  
 
LDI Regulation 42 (Louisiana Administrative Code, Title 37, Part XIII, Chapter 

11, Section 1113) provides that every workers' compensation group self-
insurance fund shall adhere to a uniform classification system, uniform 
experience rating plan, and manual rules acknowledged by the commissioner 
of insurance. The commissioner has delegated approval authority to the 
Office of Property and Casualty.  

  
  
DEFINITIONS  

  
A-Rates   Rates that are not supported by loss experience 

statistics. The rates are based on the judgment of the 
underwriter on an individual risk basis. The rates can 
be written broadly (Example: “We intend to write this 
program on an “A” Rated basis”) or with a guide that 
indicates specific premium for each coverage. If the 
company uses a guide, it must use the specific 
premium and cannot use a range of rates. Additionally, 
a company must actuarially support/justify the 
premiums indicated in the guide.  
 

Abeyance  Occurs when a submitted prior approval filing has 
been set aside until all information needed to complete 
the review is made available by the filer to OPC staff.  
 

Act of Terrorism   Those acts certified as such by the United States 
Secretary of the Treasury acting in consultation with 
the Secretary of Homeland Security and the Attorney 
General under the provisions of the Terrorism Risk 
Insurance Act of 2002. No act shall be certified by the 
Secretary as an act of terrorism if: (1) the act is 
committed as part of the course of a war declared by 
the Congress, except that this clause shall not apply 
with respect to a coverage for workers’ compensation; 
or (2) property and casualty insurance losses resulting 
from the act, in the aggregate, do not exceed $5,000,000.  
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Action Letter   A letter issued by the LDI that indicates the disposition 
of a filing (i.e., meets requirements, meets requirements 
contingent upon form approval, acknowledged, 
disapproved, withdrawn, etc.)   
 

Advisory   
Organization   

Every group, association, or other organization of 
insurers, whether located within or outside this state, 
which assists insurers with the submission of rate/rule 
filings by collecting and furnishing loss or expense 
statistics or by the submission of recommendations. An 
advisory organization does not make a rate filing on its 
behalf or on behalf of insurers.  
 

Agenda   A report that can be generated from the Rate Filing 
Search tool located on the LDI website that reflects: 1) 
the filings pending to date, 2) the filings submitted the 
previous week or 3) the filings acted on in the previous 
week.  
   

Certificate of      The licenses issued by the LDI to an insurance company 
Authority      that allows it to conduct business in Louisiana.  

  
Classification of Risk      The combining of risks into groups with the same  

general characteristics so that inherent differences    
in exposure to loss can be recognized for rating or     
underwriting purposes. 

 
Commissioner   Commissioner of Insurance.  

 
Consent to Rate   A procedure whereby a risk which is not acceptable at 

filed rates may be written at rates above those filed. The 
insurer must submit a written application to the 
commissioner of insurance that explains or provides 
justification for the use of a higher rate, along with a 
statement and/or signature of the insured person or 
entity whereby the insured person or entity 
acknowledges and agrees to the imposition of the higher 
rate.  
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Effective Date   
 
 
File and Use 

The earliest date that an insurer proposes to implement 
a new rate or rule filing. 
 
Every authorized/licensed insurer must file all 
proposed rates, supplementary rate information, and 
supporting documentation for risks written in Louisiana 
with the commissioner of insurance. Once filed, these 
submissions are deemed approved unless the insurer is 
notified otherwise by the commissioner within 30 days 
of the rate filing. 
 

Filer   An insurer or any other authorized entity that submits a 
filing for review and acknowledgement. With a letter of 
authority, an insurer can delegate its filing authority to a 
third party.  
 

Filing   An application submitted to the LDI OPC for the 
purpose of requesting the implementation of a rate 
and/or rule. This includes the filing of initial rates and 
rules, changes to previously acknowledged rates and 
rules, and the withdrawal of acknowledged rates and 
rules.  

  
Form Policy contracts used by insurers to transact the business 

of insurance.  
 

Form Filing   Application by a filer for OPC approval of a form. This 
includes the initial filing of forms, changes to previously 
approved forms and withdrawal of approved forms.  
 

Initial Filing   A filing of rates and/or rules when no previous or 
similar filing has been acknowledged by the 
OPC/commissioner. 
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 Insured TRIA loss     
Any loss resulting from an act of terrorism that is 
covered by primary or excess property and casualty 
insurance issued by an insurer if such loss (1) occurs 
within the United States; or (2) occurs to an air carrier  
(as defined in 40102 of title 49, United States Code), or to 
a United States flag vessel (or a vessel based principally 
in the United States, on which United States income tax 
is paid and whose insurance coverage is subject to 
regulation in the United States), regardless of where the 
loss occurs, or at the premises of any United States 
mission.  Such loss includes losses that would result in 
an act of war, in the case of workers’ compensation.  

 
 

Individual Risk 
Premium Modification   

A limited set of rules used to adjust a rate to reflect an 
insured’s risk more accurately. An individual risk 
premium modification plan contains specific risk 
characteristics, based on quantified differences from the 
average risk contemplated in the manual rate, for which 
judgment is allowed to adjust the manual rate. The 
adjustments are in the form of debits and credits, within 
certain bounds. Also referred to as a “schedule rating 
plan.”   
 

Plan   

Installment Plan   A billing or payment plan where an insured pays a 
premium in partial payments over the term of the 
policy. Often, an additional nominal fee is charged to 
cover processing costs. 
 

Judgment Rating Plan 
 

An underwriting methodology based on the best 
judgment of an underwriter to classify and rate a specific 
risk. This method of rating is not allowed in Louisiana for 
personal lines.  

   
LDI   Louisiana Department of Insurance  

La. R.S. 
 

Louisiana Revised Statutes 
 

Modeling 
 
 
 

An actuarial tool used to create rating plans, create 
price points in a rating plan, or evaluate risk (such as 
hurricane risk).  
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 Multiple Rating Plan 
   

A rating scheme that provides different rate levels 
across multiple companies within a group of 
companies. There is no requirement that rate 
classification systems be identical across the 
companies. A multiple rating plan is not a tier rating 
plan. However, an individual company in a multiple 
company rating plan may also have a tier rating plan.  
[See tier rating plan].  

OPC   The Office of Property and Casualty.  

 Premium   The amount assessed by an insurer as consideration for 
the purchase or continuance of insurance for a stated 
term; includes any assessment, membership, policy, 
survey, inspection, service or similar fee or charge. The 
determination of premium is based on OPC 
acknowledged rules applied to acknowledged rates.  
 

Rate  The manual charge per unit of exposure used to 
determine premium. The manual charge includes (1) 
losses, (2) insurer’s expenses, and (3) profits and 
contingencies provision.  

Rate Capping   

  

The process of tempering the premium charged to 
renewed individual policies so as to avoid large 
swings over time.  

Rate Search Tool   

  

An online LDI search mechanism that allows the 
public and insurers to search for filings and to track 
the status of submitted filings.  

Rate Revision  A request to change, add to, or remove rates or rate 
calculations previously acknowledged by the OPC.  
  

Rating Plan  
  

The incorporation of classifications, manual rules and 
numerical factors used to develop a rate.  
  

Rating Organization  A corporation, an unincorporated association, a 
partnership, or an individual, whether located within 
or outside this state, which applies to the OPC for 
licensure as an entity that is authorized to submit 
filings on behalf of its members. 
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 Receipt Stamp 
  

An ink stamp containing the text RECEIVED (date) LA. 
OFFICE OF PROPERTY AND CASUALTY. The date of 
this stamp is the date used by the OPC for time 
sensitive demarcations, such as deemed effective 
dates.  
 

Risk Purchasing Group  A group of persons or entities with similar or related 
business interests that is authorized by the LDI to 
purchase liability insurance on a group basis for 
similar or related liability exposure.  

Risk Retention Group 
(RRG)  

Owner-controlled insurance companies authorized by 
the Federal Risk Retention Act of 1986. An RRG 
provides liability insurance to members who engage 
in similar or related business or activities for all or any 
portion of the exposures of group members, excluding 
first party coverages. RRGs are exempt from state 
filing requirements.  
 

Rule  Instructions used to calculate premium for an insured 
risk, or to clarify coverage, or to establish other criteria 
the company requires to accept, process, or limit a 
risk. These instructions would not include any 
changes in premium for a policyholder.  
 

Rule Revision  A request to change, add to, or remove rules previously 
acknowledged. 
 

Schedule Rating Plan  A limited set of rules used to adjust a rate to 
accurately reflect an insured’s risk. The plan contains 
specific risk characteristics based upon quantified 
differences from the average risk contemplated in the 
manual rate for which judgment of the company is 
allowed to adjust the manual rate. The adjustments 
are in the form of debits and credits, within certain 
bounds. [Also see Individual Risk Premium 
Modification Plan] 

 
Tier-Rating    Two or more rate classification plans within a single 

company. The rating plans may or may not be 
identical. A tier-rating plan can be used and 
implemented between companies within a group of 
companies or within a single company. The OPC 
draws a clear distinction between the two types of tier 
rating plans. [Also see Multiple Rating Plan]    
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Terrorism Risk   
Insurance Act (TRIA)   

The Terrorism Risk Insurance Act (TRIA) is a U.S. 
federal law that was enacted in 2002. TRIA was 
enacted in the wake of the terrorist attacks of 
September 11, 2001. The Act was created to enable 
commercial insurers to provide reasonable terrorism 
coverage to policyholders who are subjected to acts of 
terrorism. Originally, TRIA was to expire in 
December, 2005, but it has been extended four times 
since and now is set to expire in 2027.  
 

TRIA Certified Loss   
  

Loss resulting from a certified act of terrorism pursuant 
to the federal Terrorism Risk Insurance  
Reauthorization Act of 2019. 
 

TRIA Non-certified   
Act of Terrorism    

  

A violent act that is dangerous to human life, property 
or infrastructure that is committed by an individual or 
individuals and that appears to be part of an effort to 
coerce a civilian population or to influence the policy 
or affect the conduct of any government by coercion. 
Moreover, the act is not certified as a terrorist act 
pursuant to the federal Terrorism Risk Insurance 
Reauthorization Act of 2019.  
 

TRIA Non-certified 
TRIA Loss   

  

A loss from what would otherwise be an act of 
terrorism except that it is not certified as such by the 
Secretary of the Treasury under the provisions of the 
Terrorism Risk Insurance Reauthorization Act of 2019. 
  

Workers’   
Compensation Group   
Self-Insurance Fund   
(WCGSIF)  

Workers’ Compensation Group Self-Insurance Fund is 
an organized group of employers that forms an 
association for the purpose of providing workers’ 
compensation insurance for all of its member 
employers.  
 

Wrap-Up  An insurance policy that covers all liability exposure 
for a large group that has something in common. For 
example, wrap-up insurance can be written for all the 
various businesses working together on a special 
project, (i.e., a large construction project). The 
insurance policy written would provide coverage for 
losses arising out of that work only. Wrap-up includes 
owner-controlled insurance programs. 
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FILING PROCESSES   
  
Receipt of Filing 
 
Companies may submit filings to OPC via U. S. Mail or SERFF. Upon receipt 
of a paper filing, OPC staff will date stamp and return a copy of the filing’s 
cover letter to the filer. The returned copy of the cover letter does not signify 
approval of the filing. The returned copy of the cover letter only notifies the 
filer that the filing has been received and is being processed in accordance 
with outlined procedures. A complete filing shall include a cover letter which 
states the intent to file under the file and use provision, and actuarial 
justification to support the request. Date-sensitive time frames shall be 
determined by the stamped receipt date on the returned copy, not the stamped 
receipt-acknowledged date.  
   
Upon receipt of a filing submitted through SERFF, OPC staff will change the 
filing status to “Review Initiated.” Once the SERFF filing is electronically date 
stamped, this act should serve as an indicator to the filer that the filing has been 
received and is being processed in accordance with outlined procedures. A 
complete filing submitted via SERFF shall include a detailed explanation in the 
filing description stating the insurer’s intent to submit under the prior file and 
use provision and a thorough explanation of the filing, a completed rate/rule 
filing schedule and actuarial justification to support the request.  

Filing Review 

Upon receipt of a rate/rule filing, the filing is assigned to an OPC examiner for 
review.  

All filings are to be made on a per line of business (i.e., Private Passenger 
Automobile), per program (i.e., Motorcycle) basis.  
  
All filings will be reviewed by the OPC staff on a date received (first come) basis.  
  
If a filing is found to be incomplete, OPC staff will issue a disapproval letter 
outlining the missing components. If the filer wants to submit the filing again, 
the filing must be resubmitted in its entirety with a new company reference 
number and reference to the previous LDI Item Key filing number.  
  
If there is an unresolved compliance issue or any actuarial issues, the filer will 
receive a written disapproval letter that details the compliance and/or actuarial 
issues. For any filing that is disapproved, the insurer may re-file at any time 
(with a new company reference number and reference to the previous LDI Item 
Key filing number) or the insurer may appeal the disapproval to the Nineteenth 
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Judicial District Court, Parish of East Baton Rouge (19th JDC) within 15 days from 
receipt of written notice of the disapproval pursuant to La. R.S. 22:1469(B).  
  

 
Commercial Informational Filings   

Rates for commercial risks with at least $10,000 in annual policy premium shall 
be submitted to the OPC/commissioner on an informational basis. This 
exception does not include workers’ compensation or medical malpractice 
liability insurance (these lines must be filed with the commissioner for approval 
prior to implementation as outlined in La. R.S. 22:1451). The informational filing 
can be in the form of an entire program whose eligibility requirements meet or 
exceed the minimum $10,000 policy premium or an individual qualifying policy. 
The informational filing shall include the following:   
  
• A cover letter which clearly states whether the submission is for an entire 

program or individual policies.  
   
• For a qualifying program, the cover letter should clearly indicate the filing is 

for the entire program and state the minimum premium for each policy issued 
by way of the program will be at least $10,000.  

   
• For qualifying policies, the informational filing should include a copy of the 

declaration page for each individual policyholder.  
   
 
The OPC staff will acknowledge receipt of all informational filings found in 
compliance.  
  

PUTTING THE RATE/RULE FILING TOGETHER   
This section defines a “complete filing” by including the minimum and general 
filing requirements, as well as detailed filing requirements for specific filing 
situations. The filing requirements are organized by type of filing and, where 
appropriate, by line of business. Unless a line or company type is explicitly 
identified, the requirements listed below apply to all lines of business and 
companies.  
 
A Workers’ Compensation Group Self-Insurance Fund (“WCGSIF”) must submit 
a filing pursuant to LDI Bulletin 08-09 (formerly LDI Bulletin 95-06). All other 
filings must follow the guidelines set forth in this section.  

All Filings - Minimum Requirements   

The following filing requirements are required of all rate and rule filings 
submitted:     
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1. The filing must be submitted via the System for Electronic Rate and Form 
Filings (SERFF) or the United States mail.  

2. A complete filing must include the following:     

a. A cover letter that provides a brief statement as to the purpose of the 
filing. A cover letter must be provided for paper submissions. SERFF 
submissions must include a detailed explanation of the purpose of the 
filing in the filing description of the General Information section.  

b. Explanatory Memorandum – The memorandum should include the 
information specified by the type of filing request.  

c. Mandatory documents for the specified type of filing and line of 
business. See page 12 for detailed filing guidance.  

d. Completed Statement of Compliance from the Product Filing Matrix   
(PFM) for the product (s) listed on the Transmittal Document. The 
Product Filing Matrix is available on the Department’s website:                  
(http://ia.ldi.state.la.us/productmatrix).  

e. A copy of the last action letter from the OPC/commissioner for the 
currently acknowledged rates for the referenced program.  

 

f. Proposed manual pages should be attached to each filing at 
submission. If the filing is amended, the company should submit only 
the revised copies of the manual pages affected by the amendment.  

 

Please note the following:   

1. Expanded descriptions of exhibits and components to be included in 
filings can be found in the “Additional Useful Information” section of this 
handbook.  

2. Should a company file a short rate cancellation method, it must provide its 
short rate table.  

3. Prior to the submission of a rate filing, an insurance company should 
verify that it is licensed in Louisiana for the line of business stated in its 
filing(s).  

4. Retroactive effective dates are not allowed.  

5. When a company is adopting, delay-adopting, or non-adopting a rating 
organization filing, the company must be a member of and/or a 
subscriber of the particular rating organization. Additionally, an insurance 
company must have the necessary authority for the coverage line stated in 
the filing. The filing must, specifically, state the rating organization’s 
designation number(s) for the acknowledged rate/rule plans that will be 
adopted, delay adopted or nonadopted.  

6. Rate and rule filings must be submitted independently of form filings.  

https://ladoi-my.sharepoint.com/personal/charles_hansberry_ldi_la_gov/Documents/Documents/chansberry's%20P&C%20file/(
http://ia.ldi.state.la.us/productmatrix
http://ia.ldi.state.la.us/productmatrix
http://ia.ldi.state.la.us/productmatrix
http://ia.ldi.state.la.us/productmatrix
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Rate Revision   

A rate revision is a filer’s request to change, add to, or remove rates previously 
acknowledged by the OPC/commissioner. An initial filing designed to accept (i.e., 
roll) an existing book of business should be filed as if it is a rate revision.  

All rate revision filings should contain the following filing material:   

1. Explanatory Memorandum - The filer should explain each requested rate 
revision contained in the filing. The impact of changes for the base premium, 
classification, territory, limits and deductible should be separately identified 
for each coverage type. All deviations contained in the filing, whether they 
involve deviations between companies, deviations from rating organization 
filings or otherwise should be separately identified.  

 
2. Exhibit A.1 – Louisiana Experience Underlying Revision  

Exhibit A.1 should be completed regardless of how much business volume 
the filer has in Louisiana for the program affected by the filing. If no business 
has been written, place zeros in the appropriate lines of the exhibit. This 
worksheet shows historical experience for the program affected by the filing. 
The exhibit should reflect the most current five (5) years of experience. When 
filings are submitted between the months of April and December, the 
company must use the previous calendar year end as its most current year.  
 

3. Actuarial Memorandum – The Actuarial Memorandum should illustrate, 
from an actuarial standpoint, what rating factors are being amended in a 
proposed filing and what methodology is being used to develop the indicated 
and the selected rate impact.  
 

4. Exhibit A.2 – Countrywide Experience Underlying Revision 
Exhibit A.2 is not required but may be requested by OPC staff. The exhibit 
should be completed regardless of how much business volume the filer has 
countrywide for the program affected by the filing. If no business has been 
written, place zeros in the appropriate lines of the exhibit. This worksheet 
shows historical experience for the program affected by the filing. The exhibit 
should reflect the most current five (5) years of experience. When filings are 
submitted between the months of April and December, the company must 
use the previous calendar year end as its most current year.  
 

5. Exhibit B – Actuarial Checklist – Company Portion 
Exhibit B is a tool used by both the insurer and regulatory staff to verify that 
the filing has all of the requisite actuarial supporting documents. This 
checklist is required to be submitted with all property & casualty personal 
lines rate filings in Louisiana. It is optional for other lines of business. 
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6. Justification for requested rate revision:   

Actuarial Analysis - For all rate revision filings where the annual premium in    
the latest calendar year is greater than two hundred, fifty thousand dollars 
($250,000) an actuarial analysis in support of the rate revision must be 
included in the filing. Annual premium should be measured based on the 
insurance program affected by the proposed rate revision.  
  

  Statistical Analysis – For rate revision filings where the annual premium in 
the latest calendar year is less than two hundred, fifty thousand dollars 
($250,000) and an actuarial analysis is not available, a company may 
submit a statistical analysis. Annual premium should be measured based 
on the insurance program affected by the proposed rate revision.  

 Detailed Explanation – For rate revision filings where there is not enough 
historical data to support an actuarial or statistical analysis, a detailed 
explanation as to how the proposed revised rates were derived is 
required. Additional information may be requested by LDI actuarial staff. 

7. Exhibit C – Louisiana Loss Cost Multiplier Worksheet for Lines Other 
Than Workers’ Compensation 
Exhibit C is a worksheet used in developing a loss cost multiplier relative 
to a rating organization’s loss costs. This exhibit is mandatory for loss cost 
reference filings for lines other than workers’ compensation.  
 

8. Exhibit C-WC – Louisiana Loss Cost Multiplier Worksheet for Workers’ 
Compensation 
Exhibit C-WC is a worksheet used in developing a loss cost multiplier 
relative to a rating organization’s loss costs. This exhibit is mandatory for 
loss cost reference filings for workers’ compensation.  
 

9. Exhibit D – Private Passenger Automobile Rating Examples and Exhibit D.1 
– Private Passenger Automobile Rating Illustration  

• Exhibit D compares rates for seven (7) risk classifications in fourteen (14) 
Louisiana cities.  

• Exhibit D.1 shows the calculations underlying the rate for one of the 
ninety-eight (98) rating example situations shown in Exhibit D.  

• For all private passenger automobile rate revision filings, Exhibits D and 
D.1 must be included.  
 

10.  Exhibit E – Homeowners Rating Examples and Exhibit E.1 – Homeowners   
Rating Illustration   

• Exhibit E compares rates for twelve (12) risk classifications in thirty (30) 
Louisiana cities.  

• Exhibit E.1 shows the calculations underlying the rate for one of the three 
hundred sixty (360) rating example situations shown in Exhibit E.  

• For all homeowners rate revision filings, Exhibits E and E.1 must be 
included.  
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11. Exhibit F - Louisiana Operating Results 
Exhibit F reflects an insurer’s profit or loss on business written in 
Louisiana. The OPC may request Exhibit F when a company has Louisiana 
earned premium exceeding $6 million, in aggregate, over the most recent 
three (3) calendar years. Exhibit F should reflect direct business only. Note 
that reinsurance shall not be included. This includes reinsurance with third 
parties, as well as inter-company pooling arrangements within a company 
group. Exhibit F premium and loss experience should only reflect business 
affected by the filing. If this is not feasible, the filer should provide Exhibit 
F experience for the closest line or sub-line available and note this fact on 
the exhibit. Exhibit F expense and income experience should reflect only the 
Louisiana business affected by the filing. If necessary, Louisiana expenses 
or income can be approximated from data aggregated at a higher level. 
Examples are: countrywide experience, group experience or annual 
statement line of business. If Louisiana expenses or income is 
approximated, it should be noted on the exhibit. Exhibit F must include the 
most current ten (10) years of information. When filings are submitted 
between the months of April and December, the company must use the 
previous calendar year end as its most current year. Annual premium 
should be based on the insurance program affected by the proposed rate 
revision.  
 

12. Exhibit H – Louisiana Rate Revision Questionnaire (Not needed for new    
programs)  
Exhibit H breaks down the overall statewide average rate revision, by 
filing, into a distribution of policyholders across percent change 
increments. For all private passenger automobile, homeowners and medical 
professional liability filings, Exhibit H must be included. For all other lines 
of business, it must be submitted upon departmental request.  

 
13.  Exhibit I – Louisiana Rate Revision Questionnaire by Territory (Not 

needed for new programs) – Exhibit I displays, in tabular form, the effect 
that the overall statewide rate revision will have on each of the insurer’s 
territories. For all private passenger automobile and homeowners’ filings, 
Exhibit I must be included. For all other lines of business, Exhibit I must be 
submitted upon departmental request. 

 
14. Exhibit J – Louisiana Medical Malpractice Filing Questionnaire   

Exhibit J displays, in tabular form, the effect that the overall statewide rate 
revision will have on each of the insurer’s territories. For all medical 
professional liability filings, Exhibit J must be included.  
 

15. Catastrophe Model Interrogatories (LDI Bulletin 2013-04)  
The purpose of Bulletin No. 2013-04 is to provide assistance to all property 
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and casualty insurers using catastrophe models to support proposed rates     
filed with the LDI. While modeling specific to the hurricane peril is the 
focus of this bulletin, the guidance provided should be used for other 
perils where applicable. Completion and submission of the Catastrophe 
Model Interrogatories is mandatory when a personal lines rate filing relies 
on a catastrophe model(s) to support the proposed rates.  

   
Information Related to the SERFF Rate/Rule Schedule Tab   

1. Written premium change for a program should be calculated as the 
written premium for the program, multiplied by the overall percent of rate 
impact.  

2. When reporting the number of policyholders affected for this program, the 
following criteria should be followed:    

• Value should be no older than three months old (relative to the filing 
date).  

• Value should be on an in-force basis.  

• Value should reflect all policyholders in the program, not just the 
policyholders affected by rate change.  

• Value should reflect the number of policies, not the number of 
exposures.  

3. When reporting written premium for a program, the following criteria 
should be applied:   

• Value should reflect 12 months of written premium.  

• Value should reflect the 12-month period ending no more than three 
months ago (relative to the filing date).  

• Value should include booked premium audit where applicable.  
(workers’ compensation, etc.).  

        
Monoline Revisions That Affect the Package Program   
   
When a company is making a rate revision to a monoline program and the rate 
revision also affects the package program, the filing should be made as a 
monoline filing and the overall percentage of increase/decrease for the monoline 
program should be provided as well as the overall percentage of 
increase/decrease for the package program.  
    
Rate Capping   
The LDI generally does not favor individual policy rate-capping because it may 
lead to unfair discrimination when identical risks, one new and one renewing, 
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are charged different premiums. However, the OPC recognizes that tempering 
large increases in premium, even when the increases are actuarially sound, may 
be in the public’s best interest.  

Rate capping of individual premium changes at renewal, as addressed herein, 
should not be confused with capping actuarial selections within a rating plan.  
 
The OPC finds acceptable an insurer judgmentally selecting internal rating plan 
relativities, e.g., tempered class or territory relativities, to limit the impact a 
proposed rate change would have on individual classes of business.  

  
Capping individual premium changes at renewal (“Rate Capping”): The 
following capping rules set forth the OPC’s guidance for the insurance industry. 
Please note that the commissioner may exempt an insurer from having to 
comply with the rate capping guidelines provided below if: 1.) an insurer 
submits a written request for exemption to the commissioner explaining how the 
rate capping guidance will result in undue hardship, impairment or insolvency 
and 2.) the commissioner determines that the requesting insurer’s exemption 
from the guidelines has merit.  

a. There shall be no capping of premium changes caused by changes in coverage 
exposure, classification, or other policyholder characteristics.  

b. Rate capping on the up-side shall not limit individual policyholder premium 
increases to less than ten percent (+10%).  

c. There shall be no rate capping on the downside, i.e., if a policyholder is 
projected to receive a reduction in premium due to the implementation of a 
rate change, then that policyholder should receive the full reduction at the 
implementation of that rate change.  

d. The insurer shall place a rule in its rate manual detailing the application of rate 
capping. This rule shall be clearly worded and shall specify:  
i. The up-side cap;   
ii. That there is no down-side cap;  
iii. The formula for the rate capping calculation;  
iv. The duration of the rate capping procedure,  

e.g., start date and end date; (e.g., 6 semi - annual renewals or 3 annual 
renewals) 

v. Explain how future rate changes will interact with 
the current rate change under the rate capping rule; 
and  

vi. Other relevant information.  
e. All standard filing transmittal forms shall show the overall percentage and 

dollar rate impacts on an uncapped basis. This applies to any and all 
predetermined state-mandated forms required to be completed by the 
insurer and transmitted with the filing, (e.g., Rate/Rule Filing Schedule, 
SERFF Rate Information tab and Louisiana Exhibits C, C-WC, H, I, and J).  
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f. The insurer shall disclose to OPC the impact of the proposed capped rate 
changes over future renewal periods until the capping process ends. The 
disclosure shall include projections of premiums, percentage changes, dollar 
changes, and number of policies impacted for each future renewal period. To 
perform this exercise, the insurer shall make the standard assumption that its 
current book of business is fully retained and renewed into the future, until 
the capping process ends.  
  
As a simplified example, suppose a company wishes to impose a cap of +20% 
per renewal and currently has two semiannual policies:  

  
   Policy #   
   

Premium    % Change             $ Change   

      1      $1,000             +   5%                    +   $50   

      2      
   

$2,000             +   50%                  +   $1,000   

   Total    $3,000             +    35%                 +   $1,050   
   
Then the insurer shall show the following three tables (or Table 3 at a 
minimum) in its filing:  
  

   UNCAPPED POLICIES (Table 1)    

          (A)             (B)         (C)          (D)        (E)   

Semiannual        Premium               Impacted   
   Renewal         Subject to               Number of  
     Period   
   

     Change    % Change   $ Change   Policies   

1         1,000        +  5.0%      +   50             1   

2        1,050        +  0.0%      +     0              0   
3        1,050        +  0.0%      +     0              0   
4        1,050        +  0.0%      +     0              0   
5        1,050        +  0.0%      +     0              0   
6  
  

      1,050        +  0.0%      +     0              0   

    All Periods   

   

     
   

 1,000        +  5.0%     +    50    

 
CAPPED POLICIES (Table 2)   

     1   

        (A)              (B)         (C)          (D)        (E)   
Semiannual        Premium               Impacted   
   Renewal         Subject to               Number of  
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     Period   
   

     Change    % Change   $ Change   Policies   

1         2,000        +20.0%      + 400             1   
2         2,400        +20.0%      + 480              1   
3         2,880        +4.2%      + 120              1   
4         3,000        +0.0%      +    0              0   
5         3,000        +0.0%      +    0              0   
6   

   
      3,000        +0.0%      +    0              0   

    All Periods   
   

  

         2,000                      +50.0%              +1,000   

  
  

    1  

  

 

 
 
 
 
 
 
UNCAPPED + CAPPED POLICIES (Table 3)   

 

     

       (A)            (B)         (C)          (D)        (E)   
Semiannual        Premium               Impacted   
   Renewal         Subject to               Number of  
     Period   
   

     Change    % Change   $ Change   Policies   

1         3,000        +  15.0%      + 450         2   
2         3,450        +  13.9%      + 480         1   
3         3,930        +  3.1%      + 120         1   
4         4,050        +  0.0%      +     0         0   
5         4,050        +  0.0%      +     0         0   
6   

   
      4,050        +  0.0%      +     0         0   

    All Periods   
 NOTES   
   
(1) (C) = (D) / (B)   

         3,000                      +35.0%                +1,050                 2  

(2) For All Periods rows:   
(B) = (B) for Semiannual Renewal Period 1   
(C) = Multiplicative combination of (C) for all Semiannual Renewal Periods   
          (e.g., in Table 2, +50.0% = 1.20 x 1.20 x  1.042  - 1.000)   
(D) = Sum of (D) for all Semiannual Renewal Periods   
(E) = (E) for Semiannual Renewal Period 1   

(3) Table 3 = Table 1 + Table 2, except that note (1) above applies   
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g. Any subsequent change to the rate capping rule shall be made by filing a rule 
change with the commissioner, as required by La. R.S. 22:1451 and 22:1464. 
The filing shall be consistent with items a. and f. above.  

h. If a company has an existing capping rule that is in conflict with the 
aforementioned guidelines, the company’s capping rule should be amended 
and brought into compliance with the company’s next rate and/or rule filing.  

   
Actuarial Note: In a rate filing, when a rate capping rule has lowered historical 
premiums, the insurer’s actuary shall ensure that the actuarial indication does 
not redundantly measure rate need. The actuarial method to adjust premium to 
current rate level shall first and explicitly adjust premium to remove the effects 
of rate capping, and then adjust the uncapped premiums to current levels.  
  

As an illustration, in the example shown above (Table 3), after Semiannual 
Renewal Period 1 has elapsed, the effect of rate capping will have lowered 
the written premium for that period from $4,050 to $3,450. The proper 
value to use in the ratemaking formula will be the $4,050 value and not the 
$3,450 value.  

            
          Additional Rate Capping Guidelines ( 3/28/2025)  
 

1.)   Downside rate capping can only be used to transition policies from one 
actuarially sound model or rating system to another actuarially sound model or 
rating system. Decreases due to a base rate revision (or an offset that produces 
the same effect as a base rate revision) cannot be capped. 

2.) Any large change in a factor should be actuarially justified, credible, and 
reasonably stable going forward. Capping should not be used for stabilizing 
volatile or non-credible factors.  

3.) All policies should move to indicated (uncapped) rates within 3 years. 
4.) All rules and factors related to the capping should be described in detail in the 

rate filing such that a policyholder’s premium could be audited by the LDI. 
5.) The capping process should be simple. Complexity that would be perceived by 

constituents as a black-box is not allowed. 
6.) Downside rate capping within the range of 0% to -10% is not allowed. The 

capping must unwind substantially at each renewal.  
7.) Rate capping for the purpose of retaining an insured is not allowed as this 

could be considered a rate optimization practice.  

  
Adoption of Rating Organization’s Loss Costs   
For adoption of a rating organization’s loss costs, an insurer must file to adopt 
each rating organization’s loss costs independently. In other words, the rating 
organization does not file for and receive acknowledgement on behalf of its 
members and /or subscribers. Examples of this type of filing are the adoption of 
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ISO (Insurance Services Office,) or NCCI (National Council on Compensation 
Insurance) loss costs.  

In Louisiana, loss cost multipliers (“LCM”) do not remain “on file” to be used 
with future loss costs revisions. Each insurer’s filing to adopt a rating 
organization’s LCM must include support for the proposed LCM even if the 
LCM does not change from a previous adoption.  
     
The filing packet to adopt a rating organization’s loss costs should include the 
following items in addition to those listed above.  
  
1. OPC Exhibit C – Louisiana Loss Cost Multiplier Worksheet for Lines Other 

Than Workers’ Compensation or OPC Exhibit C – WC – Louisiana Loss Cost 
Multiplier Worksheet for Workers’ Compensation.  

•  In a more refined rating plan, multiple Exhibits C or C-WC may be filed, 
as appropriate. For example, the filer may want to recognize different 
expenses associated with each company in a group, different expenses 
underlying liability versus physical damage coverage, or different expense 
and underwriting standards associated with targeted niche-markets 
within a line of business. Note that with refined plans, support must be 
provided for each LCM.  
  

2. The Explanatory Memorandum should reference all rating organization 
filing designations that are being adopted.  
 

Non-Adoption of Rating Organization’s Loss Costs  
 As with the adoption of loss costs, an insurer must file to non-adopt each rating 
organization’s loss costs independently. The Explanatory Memorandum should 
reference all rating organization filing designations that are being non-adopted.  
 
Book Transfers 
A book transfer is a transaction in which one company enters into an agreement 
with another company to migrate or convert a book of business from it to an 
assuming company. For such situations, the rate capping rules in the previously 
mentioned section shall apply. However, should the assuming company find a 
need for additional rate capping flexibility, the commissioner/OPC would 
consider allowing an exception to the aforementioned rate capping rules, 
provided the assuming company can demonstrate adequate justification for such 
flexibility. 
 
Private Passenger Automobile   
For a private passenger automobile rate revision, the filed material should 
include the following items in addition to those listed in the “All Filings - 
Minimum Requirements” section. These items are required whether the filing is 
an adoption or an independent filing.  
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1. Exhibit D – Private Passenger Automobile Rating Example and D.1 –             
Private Passenger Automobile Rating Illustration. (Needed for new and existing 
programs.)  

2. Exhibit H – Louisiana Rate Revision Questionnaire. (Not needed for new 
program.)  
 

3. Exhibit  I  –  Louisiana Rate Revision Questionnaire by Territory. (Not needed 
for new program.)  
 

Premium Increase Based on Age   
In acknowledging the provisions of La. R.S. 22:1286, the statute provides that 
“No insurer shall increase the premium charged for an automobile liability 
insurance policy to any insured solely on the grounds that the insured has 
attained the age of sixty-five or older.” The position of the LDI has always been 
that the use of the term “policy” encompasses the entire policy, not just a specific 
coverage (i.e., liability only, bodily injury, etc.).  

Homeowners   
For all homeowner rate revisions, the filed material should include the following 
items in addition to those listed in the “All Filings - Minimum Requirements” 
section. These items are required whether the filing is an adoption or an 
independent filing.  

1. Exhibit E – Homeowners Rating Example and E.1 – Homeowners Rating 
Illustration. (Needed for new and existing programs.)  

2. Exhibit H – Louisiana Rate Revision Questionnaire. (Not needed for new 
program.)  

3. Exhibit  I – Louisiana Rate Revision Questionnaire by Territory. (Not needed 
for new program.)  

4. If catastrophe modeling is used to support the selected catastrophe load, the 
Catastrophe Model Interrogatories must be included.  

 

Medical Professional Liability   
For all medical malpractice liability revisions, the filed material should include 
the following items in addition to those listed in the “All Filings - Minimum 
Requirements” section. These items are required whether the filing is an 
adoption or an independent filing.  

Exhibit  H – Louisiana Rate Revision Questionnaire   

Exhibit  J – Louisiana Medical Malpractice Filing Questionnaire   
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Fire and Allied Lines   
Fire and allied lines companies must utilize the currently acknowledged rates of 
the Property Insurance Association of Louisiana (PIAL) unless the company files 
to deviate and that deviation is approved. No filing is required of a company 
that is using the current PIAL rates without deviation.  

A company may deviate from PIAL rates as outlined in La. R.S. 22:1468 A. (1) 
and (2). The deviation application must include the following:   

1. An Explanatory Memorandum that should explain and specify the basis 
for the requested deviation.  

2. Justification for the deviation.  

When PIAL receives acknowledgement to change its rates, the company may 
submit a rate filing to maintain or amend its deviation or to implement the new 
PIAL rates. When a company has received acknowledgement to deviate from 
PIAL’s rates, the deviation, and the PIAL rates that the deviation applies to shall 
be permanent and will remain in effect until the company requests and receives 
acknowledgement for a new deviation and/or requests and receives 
acknowledgement to use the new PIAL rates with a deviation.  
  
A company may file a uniform percentage deviation from PIAL’s current rates. 
In this case, a company may explicitly state that the uniform percentage 
deviation is to apply to all future and acknowledged PIAL rates. Otherwise, the 
uniform percentage deviation and the PIAL rates that the uniform deviation 
applies to at the time of acknowledgement shall be permanent and will remain 
in effect until the company requests and receives acknowledgement for a new 
deviation and/or use of the new PIAL rates. Please refer to LDI Advisory Letter 
2020-01 to provide further guidance.  
 

Installment Plans   
Installment plans should be filed separately from rate or rule filings. For detailed 
filing guidance, see page 35.  

Consent to Rate   

Consent-to-rate requests should be filed separately from rate or rule filings. For 
detailed filing guidance, see page 33 or LDI Regulation 111.  

Rule Revision   

A rule revision is a filer’s request to change, add to or remove rules previously 
acknowledged by the OPC/commissioner.  
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For all rule revision filings, the filed material should include the following 
exhibits for consideration. If not an initial filing, a filing to adopt a rating 
organization’s rules is considered a rule revision for the purposes of this 
document.  

The following information and documents shall be included in a complete filing 
packet for the identified filing situations:     

1. Explanatory Memorandum   

If applicable, provide an explanation indicating if the coverage is optional.  

If applicable, provide explanations of the effects of the rule change on the 
policy.  

If applicable, indicate whether there is a corresponding policy form change. If 
so, indicate the status of the form approval.  

2. An explanation of each change must be provided. 
  

3. If a rule revision results in a change in premium for any existing 
policyholder, the estimated percentage and dollar impact of this premium 
change, along with the number of policyholders must be provided.  

4. If the rule revision results in a reduction or increase in coverage with no 
premium impact, the rate effect on the filer’s existing book of business should 
be estimated.  

5. The revised manual pages shall be marked such that the newly added 
language is underlined and deleted language is marked with strikethrough.  

Rule-Based Change in Coverage   
Any rule (initial or revision) filing that results in a change in coverage or causes 
a change in policyholder premium (i.e., a minimum premium rule), should 
include the following items in addition to those listed above:     

1. An explanatory memorandum that illustrates a comparison of the coverage 
before and after the proposed changes.  

2. Exhibit A.1 – Louisiana Experience Underlying Revision   

3. Exhibit A.2 – Countrywide Experience Underlying Revision   

4. Exhibit B – Actuarial Checklist – Company Portion   

5. Overall Percent Rate Revision for the Existing Louisiana Book of Business   

6. Overall Premium Change for the Existing Louisiana Book of Business   

7. Number of policyholders affected by the change in coverage.   

8. Justification to support the rule changes.  
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Non-Adoption of Rating Organization’s Rules   
Non-adoption of rules associated with a rating organization’s loss costs always 
requires the submittal of a rule filing. To determine whether the rating 
organization’s rule adoption is “automatic,” the filer should refer to the service 
agreement between it and the rating organization.  

If a rating organization’s rules are automatically adopted (on the rating 
organization’s proposed effective date), and an insurer chooses not to adopt or 
to delay implementation of the rules, the insurer must make a filing to decline or 
delay adoption of the rules.  

If an insurer wants to adopt a different effective date from the effective date of a 
rating organization’s acknowledged rules, a filing is required. Otherwise, the 
rating organization’s effective date for the rules is assumed to be the effective 
date for the insurer.  
The Explanatory Memorandum should reference all rating organization filing 
designations that are being non-adopted.  
  
Delay Adoption of Rating Organization’s Rules   
Delayed adoptions (adoptions with an effective date later than a rating 
organization’s effective date) will be treated as regular adoptions. When a 
company is adopting, delay adopting, or non-adopting a rating organization’s 
filing, that company must be a member and/or subscriber of the particular 
rating organization and have the necessary authority for the coverage line stated 
in the filing. The filing must specifically state the rating organization’s 
designation number(s) that has been acknowledged for use in Louisiana and will 
be utilized with the company’s filing. An action letter will be issued by the 
OPC/commissioner.  

Initial Rate and Rule Filing   

A filing of rates or rules is an “initial” filing when no previous or similar filing 
has been acknowledged by the OPC/commissioner, for a Program.  
 
Prior to submitting an initial filing, a company should be in possession of a 
Certificate of Authority that authorizes the marketing of products relative to the 
filing’s specific line of coverage.  
   
If a company withdraws a program from the market and then wishes to 
implement the program at a later date, a rate and rule filing must be made. This 
filing will be considered an initial filing (refer to the subsection on Insurer’s 
Withdrawal from Market).  
   
An initial filing designed to accept (i.e., roll) an existing book of business should 
be filed, as if it is a rate revision, following the guidelines of that subsection.  
  
An initial filing cannot be submitted along with a rate revision.  
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All initial rate and rule filings must include the following items:  
  
1. The explanatory memorandum that provides an explanation of:   

How the proposed rates were determined.  

If a filer intends to adopt the rates of another insurer, the filer must clearly 
state that the rates are based on rates acknowledged for Company X. The 
effective date of Company X’s acknowledged rates must be provided. If the 
filer’s rates differ from those acknowledged for Company X, an explanation 
must be provided.  

   
If a filer has marketed the insurance program in other states, those states 
should be identified.  

   
If a program contains any form of schedule rating, tiered rating program or 
use of policyholder credit history, such content must be clearly stated. The 
company should specify whether the filing is for a monoline program, a 
package program, or for both monoline and package programs. All filings are 
required to be submitted on a per program (monoline), per line of business 
basis. If the rates are different for the package program, then the company 
should file the program as a package. If the company will be using the same 
rates for both the monoline program and the package program, the company 
must submit a filing as monoline and state “this filing may also be used as a 
package program with the same rates and no modifications.”   

   
2. Exhibit A.2 – Countrywide Experience Underlying Revision   

3. Proposed Effective Date if not stated elsewhere in the filing.  

4. As appropriate, LDI OPC Exhibits B, C, C-WC, D, D.1 E or E.1.  
 

Initial Adoption of a Rating Organization’s Loss Costs   
An insurer must file to initially adopt a rating organization’s loss costs 
independently of a rating organization’s filing of its loss costs and the 
acknowledgement thereof. The insurer’s adoption and acknowledgement of loss 
costs is done independently of a rating organization’s acknowledgement of its 
loss costs. Examples of this type of filing include the adoption of ISO or NCCI 
loss costs.  

In Louisiana, loss cost multipliers (“LCM”) do not remain “on file” to be used 
with future loss costs revisions. Each insurer’s filing to adopt a rating 
organization’s loss costs must include support for the proposed LCM to be used 
with the new loss costs.  
   



June 2025 Edition   

26   

1. Exhibit C – Louisiana Loss Cost Multiplier Worksheet - Lines Other Than 
Workers’ Compensation or Exhibit C-WC - Louisiana Loss Cost Multiplier 
Worksheet –Workers’ Compensation.  

•    One form should be filed for each company, sub-line, or coverage. 
Class deviations may be recognized by filing multiple forms or by 
filing a single form representing the base class or classes along with a 
separate sheet showing the class deviation factors by class code. For 
example, a filer may want to recognize different expenses associated 
with each company in a group, different expenses underlying liability 
versus physical damage coverage, or different expense and 
underwriting standards associated with targeted niche markets. Note 
that support must be provided for each LCM.  

2. Three (3) years of expense experience as support for the underlying expense 
components should be used to calculate each filed LCM.  

3. The Explanatory Memorandum should reference all rating organization filing 
designations that are being adopted.  

Initial Fire or Allied Lines Filing   
For initial fire or allied lines rates the following must be considered.  

Fire and allied lines filings must be in compliance with La. R.S. 22:1460 (I).  
  
The PIAL has rates and rules, (not loss costs) acknowledged in Louisiana.  
La. R.S. 22:1468 allows a property carrier to deviate from PIAL rates, 
however the company must notify OPC/commissioner of the 
implementation of the initial deviation and of any change in the property 
deviation percentage.  

 

Initial Installment Plan Filing   
Installment plans should not be included in an initial rate or rule filing. 
Installment plans should be filed separately. See page 35 for detailed filing 
guidance.  

Initial Consent to Rate Filing   
Consent-to-rate requests should not be included in an initial rate or rule filing. 
Consent-to-rate requests should be filed separately. See page 33 for detailed 
filing guidance. Please refer to LDI Regulation 111 Consent to Rate for further 
information. 

FILING ORGANIZATION REQUIREMENTS   

This subsection contains licensing information for filing organizations as 
outlined in La. R.S. 22:1466 and 22:1471. Special guidance is provided for the 
initial application of a license and the renewal of an existing license.  
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Advisory Organizations   

According to La. R.S. 22:1471, an advisory organization is defined as every 
group, or other organization of insurers, whether located within or outside this 
state, that assists insurers with rate and/or rule filings or rating organization or 
any division in rate making, by the collection and furnishing of loss or expense 
statistics or by the submission of recommendations. However, an advisory 
organization does not submit rate/rule filings on its own behalf pursuant to La. 
R.S. 22:1471.  

Every advisory organization shall file the following information with the OPC:   

1. A copy of its constitution, its articles of agreement or association, or its 
certificate of incorporation, and its bylaws, rules and regulations 
governing the conduct of its business.   

2. A list of its members and subscribers.  

3. The name and address of a resident of this state upon whom notices or 
orders of the commissioner or a division or process issued at the direction 
of the commissioner may be served.  

4. An agreement stating that the commissioner of insurance may examine 
such advisory organization in accordance with the provisions outlined in 
Title 22, Chapter 4.  

Initial Licensing of a Rating Organization    

According to La. R.S. 22:1466, a corporation, an unincorporated association, a 
partnership, or an individual, whether located within or outside this state, may 
make application to the commissioner for license as a rating organization for 
such kinds of insurance, or subdivision, or class of risk, or a part or combination 
thereof as specified in its application.  

The rating organization shall file the following information:   

1. A copy of its constitution, its articles of agreement or association, or its 
certificate of incorporation, and its bylaws, rules, and regulations 
governing the conduct of its business.  

2. A list of its members and subscribers.   

3. The name and address of a resident of this state upon whom notices or 
orders of the commissioner or a division or process affecting such rating 
organization may be served.   

4. A statement of its qualifications as a rating organization.   

5. A fee in the amount of $2500.00, as indicated in La. R.S. 22:821.  

 

Licenses issued pursuant to La. R.S. 22:1466 shall remain in effect for three (3) 
years unless sooner suspended or revoked by the commissioner. Licenses issued 
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pursuant to La. R.S. 22:1466 may be suspended or revoked by the commissioner 
after a hearing upon notice, in the event the rating organization ceases to meet 
the requirements outlined in La. R.S. 22:1466.  

* Note that every rating organization shall notify the commissioner/LDI 
promptly of every change in: (1) its constitution, its articles of agreement, or  
association, or its certificate of incorporation, and its bylaws, rules, and 
regulations governing the conduct of its business, (2) its list of members and 
subscribers, and (3) the name and address of a resident of this state upon whom 
notices or orders of the commissioner or a division or process affecting such 
rating organization may be served.   
 

Renewal of License for a Rating Organization    

According to La. R.S. 22:1466, a rating organization’s license shall remain in 
effect for no longer than three (3) years. Following the three (3) year period, the 
rating organization must then, renew its license by submitting the following 
information:   

1. A copy of its constitution, its articles of agreement or association, or its 
certificate of incorporation, and its bylaws, rules, and regulations 
governing the conduct of its business.   

2. A list of its members and subscribers.  

3. The name and address of a resident of this state upon whom notices or 
orders of the Commissioner or a division or process affecting such rating 
organization may be served.  

4. A statement of its qualifications as a rating organization.  
  
WITHDRAWAL INSTRUCTIONS   

Insurer’s Withdrawal from Market   

Notification from an insurer stating that it is “no longer writing” or is 
“withdrawing from a market” is not a filing. A notification of this type is 
referred to as a “withdrawal.”     
  

Note that an insurer’s decision to withdraw from a market does not release the 
insurer from complying with OPC requests, any Louisiana statutory 
requirements or other responsibilities.  

Although there is no statutory obligation, the OPC requests that an insurer with 
acknowledged rates or rules notify the OPC when it chooses to withdraw from 
the Louisiana insurance market. An insurer must advise the LDI that is has taken 
the following steps in initiating withdrawal:   

1. Insurer has significantly limited its writing of new or renewal business.  

2. Insurer has ceased to write new business but continues to service renewals.  
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3. Insurer has ceased to write new and renewal business.  

4. Insurer is selling or in the process of transferring a book of business to        
another insurer.   

5. Insurer has consolidated business from multiple companies into a lesser  
number of companies.  

The OPC requests that notification be provided in writing before, or as soon as 
possible after, the effective date of the withdrawal. The insurer’s letter should 
clearly state the following:   

1. Reason for withdrawal.  

2. Impact of withdrawal on new and renewal business.  

3. The proposed effective date of the insurer’s withdrawal.  

4. The insurer’s intent to withdraw all rates, rules, and forms.  

5. If applicable, the name of the insurer assuming the book of business.  

Upon receipt of a request to withdraw from the market, the OPC will send an 
acknowledgment to the withdrawing insurer. The acknowledgement may 
inform the insurer that it is still subject to the provisions of the Insurance Code, 
particularly those regarding non-renewal and cancellation. The letter may also 
inquire as to the insurer’s intent to withdraw all rates, rules and forms. If the 
reason for the insurer’s action is unknown, the letter may request more 
information regarding the insurer’s future intent in Louisiana.  

Even though a company may state that it is “no longer writing,” 
policies/business, etc., currently acknowledged rates, rules and approved forms 
remain effective until a withdrawal of rates and rules is approved by the OPC. It 
should be understood that re-entry into the Louisiana insurance market would 
require the submission of an initial rate and rule filing for any previously 
withdrawn program.  

Withdrawal of Rates and Rules   

A request to withdraw acknowledged rates and/or rules should not be confused 
with a request to withdraw from the Louisiana insurance market. Upon 
approval by the OPC, the insurer will no longer have any acknowledged rates 
and/or rules for the withdrawn program. If the rates and/or rules are 
withdrawn, this means the insurer cannot write new or renewal business under 
the withdrawn program. Also, the company will remain subject to all Louisiana 
statutes, regulations, rules and directives until all business is run off or moved.  
 
Withdrawal of Filing that Meets Requirements Contingent upon Form 
Approval   
  

When the company wishes to withdraw a filing that meets requirements 
contingent upon form(s) approval because the forms have not been approved, 
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the company may make its request under the filing it wishes to withdraw by 
submitting a “Note to Reviewer” in SERFF. The “Note to Reviewer” must fully 
explain the reason for the withdrawal request. (Example: the corresponding 
forms have not been approved.) However, if the filing was submitted by U.S. 
Mail, then the correspondence requesting the withdrawal should reference the 
previously acknowledged filing.  
   
MERGER, ACQUISITION OR COMPANY NAME CHANGE 
REQUIREMENTS   

Merger, Acquisition or Company Name Change   

If an insurer changes its name, is acquired by another insurer, or merges with 
another insurer, OPC notification of affected insurers is required. In a letter, the 
insurer should notify the OPC/commissioner of the corporate change. The letter 
should reference all OPC/commissioner acknowledged insurance programs 
affected by the transaction.  
     
If the merger or acquisition results in the insurer’s withdrawal from a market for 
one of the affected companies, the guidance of the subsection on Insurer’s 
withdrawal from the market should be considered.  
   
Note that an insurer’s decision to merge, acquire, be acquired, or change its 
name does not release the insurer from complying with OPC requests, any 
Louisiana statutory requirements, or other responsibilities.  

SCHEDULE AND TIER RATING PLAN REQUIREMENTS   

Schedule Rating Plan (Individual Risk Premium Modification Plan)    

A schedule rating plan is a limited set of rules used to adjust a rate to reflect an 
insured’s risk more accurately. A schedule rating plan contains specific risk 
characteristics, based on quantified differences from the average risk 
contemplated in the manual rate for which judgment of the company is allowed 
to adjust the manual rate. The adjustments are in the form of debits and credits,  
within certain bounds.  
 
For the purposes of this subsection, a schedule rating plan is a method of rating 
that uses charges and credits to modify a class rate based on the special 
characteristics of the risk. A schedule rating plan is based on experience that 
supports a direct relationship between certain physical characteristics and the 
possibility of loss.  
 
In most cases, the use of schedule rating plans is limited to commercial products. 
However, there are some personal lines products where exceptions could be 
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made for special situations such as valuable collections or unique inland marine 
property risks (i.e., antique car collections, classic car collections, jewelry, etc.).  

 
If a filing introduces a schedule rating plan, this fact must be clearly stated in the 
filing memorandum and actuarially supported.  
   
Schedule rating plans can be filed within other rate and rule filings, or 
separately.  
   
Guidelines for acceptable schedule rating plans can be found in Bulletin 2016-03, 
Schedule Rating Plans for Commercial Property and Casualty Insurers. This 
bulletin is located on the LDI website at https://ldi.la.gov/docs/default-
source/documents/legaldocs/Bulletins/Bul2016-03-Cur-ScheduleRatingPlansF 

 
Tier Rating Plan  

If a filing contains tier rating, it must be clearly stated in the filing memorandum. 
When tiers are defined within a single company, the tiers are considered part of 
that company’s rate plan. As such, the criteria used to place an insured in a tier 
must be clearly defined and included in the company’s rules. The following 
guidelines should be considered when filing a tier rating plan:   

1. Criteria used to place an insured in a tier must be based on demonstrably 
different risk characteristics.  

2. A tier rating plan must use rates and rules that are not unfairly 
discriminatory.  

3. Risks with substantially similar risk characteristics must be placed in the same 
tier.  

4. The relative difference in rate level between tiers must be clearly stated in the 
filing memorandum. 

5. A tier rating plan where agent commission or credit scoring is the sole 
characteristic that differentiates rate level between tiers is not in the public’s 
best interest.  

Multiple Tier Rating Plan    

If a filing contains a multiple tier rating rule, it must be clearly stated in the filing 
memorandum. When multiple rate levels are defined within a company or 
across companies within a group, the criteria used to place an insured in a 
specific tier or company is considered underwriting. As such, underwriting 
criteria does not need to be included in the company’s rules. However, the 
following guidelines should be considered when using multiple rate levels 
across companies in a group:   

https://ldi.la.gov/docs/default-source/documents/legaldocs/Bulletins/Bul2016-03-Cur-ScheduleRatingPlansF
https://ldi.la.gov/docs/default-source/documents/legaldocs/Bulletins/Bul2016-03-Cur-ScheduleRatingPlansF
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1. A multiple tier rating rule must not be unfairly discriminatory.  

2. Risks with substantially similar risk characteristics must be placed in the 
same tier or company.  

3. The relative difference in rate level between tiers and companies must be 
clearly stated in the filing memorandum.  

4. A multiple tier rating plan where agent commission or credit scoring is the 
sole characteristic that differentiates rate level between tiers is not in the 
public’s best interest.  
  

 
INDIVIDUAL RISK, CONSENT-TO-RATE FILING REQUIREMENTS   
  
Individual Risk Filing   

 

An individual risk rating plan is comprised of rates and rules that are specific 
and unique to a given risk and are not contemplated by acknowledged manual 
rates and rules.  
  
The following guidelines should assist a filer with individual risk filings:  
   
An individual risk filing must be submitted to the OPC/commissioner.  
     
Though no statutory time frame is defined, OPC/commissioner considers a 
submission within sixty (60) days after the effective date of the policy to be 
reasonable.  
   
The individual risk filing packet should include the following:  
   
1. A cover letter from the insurer, on company letterhead, submitting the 

individual risk filing to the OPC/commissioner.  
  

2. A stamped, self-addressed return envelope.  
  
3. The original of the individual risk letter must be submitted. The letter must 

be from the insurer to the OPC/Commissioner clearly stating why the policy 
is being rated in this manner.  

4. The filing packet must include:   
• The filing cover letter;   
• The rating worksheet outlining the basis for the quoted premium;   
• The declaration page;   
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5. The individual risk letter must contain:   
• The name of the insured;   
• The name of the insurer writing the risk;   
• The line of business;  
• If applicable, the sub-line or program under which the policy is written;   
• The policy number;   
• The policy effective date;   
• The policy term;   
• The manual rating factors and premium;   
• The reason that the policy is individual risk rated.  
  

6. For each individual risk policy, a copy of the premium worksheet must be 
included in the filing packet. The premium worksheet is for the manual rate 
that would have applied if the risk could be so rated. If the risk cannot be 
manually rated, the premium worksheet can be omitted.  

Consent-to-Rate Filing   

Consent-to-rate is a procedure whereby a risk which is not acceptable at filed 
rates may be written at rates above those filed. Both the insured and the insurer 
are required to sign the consent-to-rate letter/statement. The insurer must 
provide justification for the use of the consent-to-rate procedure. The following 
guidelines should assist a filer with consent-to-rate filings:  
  
All consent-to-rate filings must be submitted to and approved by the 
commissioner. 
     
Although no statutory time frame is defined, the OPC/commissioner considers a 
submission within forty-five (45) days after the effective date of the policy to be 
reasonable.  
  
The consent-to-rate filing packet should include the following:   

1. A cover letter from the insurer, on company letterhead, submitting the 
consent-to-rate filing to the OPC/commissioner. A single filing packet 
can contain more than one consent-to-rate policy. In this case, the cover 
letter from the insurer must include a listing of policy numbers included 
in the filing packet;   

2. A stamped, self-addressed return envelope;   

3. For each consent-to-rate policy included in the filing packet, the original 
of the consent to rate application must be submitted. The consent to rate 
application must be from the insurer to the insured and clearly illustrate 
the consented rate. Both the insured and a representative of the insurance 
company must sign the consent-to-rate application. The consent-to-rate 
application can be on the insurer’s letterhead or on a blank (i.e., no 
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letterhead) sheet of paper. The consent-to-rate application must not be on 
insured’s letterhead.  

4. For each consent-to-rate policy included in the filing packet, the consent-
to-rate letter must contain:   

• The name of the insured;   
• The name of the insurer writing the risk;   
• The line of business;   
• If applicable, the sub-line or program under which the policy is 

written;   
• The policy number;   
• The policy effective date;   
• The policy term;   
• The manual premium;   
• The consented premium;   
• A written explanation as to why policy is consent rated.  

If appropriate, any guidance as to how the risk might qualify for 
coverage under a program’s acknowledged manual rates.  

5. For each consent-to-rate policy included in the filing packet, a copy of the 
declaration page must be submitted, along with one signed consent-to-
rate form with original signatures.  
  

6. For each consent-to-rate policy included in the filing packet, a copy of the 
premium worksheet must be submitted. The premium worksheet should 
illustrate both the manual rate that would have applied if the risk could 
be so rated, as well as the actual rate that was charged. If the risk cannot 
be manually rated, the premium worksheet can be omitted. In this case, 
the consent-to-rate for that policy should state this as a reason. 

 
If all of the above information is not furnished, OPC staff will send a 
letter requesting the missing information. The consent-to-rate filing will 
be placed in abeyance and will not be approved until the information is 
received. During this time, the insurer is subject to all applicable 
insurance laws regarding the use of acknowledged rates and rules.  
  
All materials furnished in a consent-to-rate filing packet will be retained 
by the OPC. Please refer to LDI Regulation 111 Consent to Rate to 
provide further guidance. 

  
MISCELLANEOUS FILING REQUIREMENTS  

A-Rated Programs   

A-Rates are rates that are not supported by loss experience statistics. The rates 
are based on the judgment of the underwriter on an individual risk basis. They 
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can be written broadly (Example: “We intend to write this program on an “A” 
Rated basis”) or with a guide that indicates specific premium for each 
coverage. If an insurer uses a guide, it must use a specific premium and cannot 
use a range of rates. An insurer must also actuarially support/justify the 
premiums indicated in the guide.  

While rates need not be indicated, as they will be negotiated, the cover letter   
should explain that the entire program will be A-Rated. Manual pages should 
also be included with the filing when submitted.  
  
Automatic Inflationary Trend   
The OPC will not accept automatic inflationary trend adjustments to rates, 
regardless of whether the trend is for future policy years or for the various 
policy months within a policy year. The OPC has concerns with this rating 
approach including, but not limited to, filing requirements set forth in La. R.S. 
22:1451 et. seq., potential unfair discrimination and rate adequacy or 
excessiveness, and determination as to what the rate should be in the month 
following the completion of an inflationary trend adjustment cycle.  

 

Installment Plan   

All installment plan filings are to be submitted separately. If the plans are 
included in another rate or rule filing, the filer will receive a letter from OPC 
staff asking that the filing be amended to exclude the installment plan and direct 
bill plan and to make such filing under separate cover.  

The OPC has established the following installment plan guidelines for personal 
lines coverage. A filer can expedite the acknowledgement of an installment plan 
by adhering to these guidelines. To the extent that these guidelines are not met, 
the filer should be prepared to discuss with the OPC staff, in detail, the proposed 
plan and how exceptions to these guidelines will benefit the Louisiana 
consumer.  

1. An initial filing or revision to an installment plan must provide adequate 
support for the proposed installment charge. Support can include statistical, 
actuarial or other experience in support of the proposed charge.  

2. For personal lines, the OPC finds that a maximum of eleven (11) installment 
payments per 12-month period is reasonable. Further, the OPC finds that a 
maximum charge of $6.00 per installment totaling $66.00 annually is 
reasonable.  

3. For commercial lines, the OPC finds that a maximum of eleven (11) 
installment payments per 12-month period is reasonable. Further, the OPC 
finds that a maximum charge of $10.00 per installment totaling $110.00 
annually is reasonable.  
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4. The installment fee cannot be charged on the down payment as the down 
payment is considered initial premium and is supposed to take care of 
processing expenses and loss interest on delayed premiums.  

5. The down payment and all installment payments must equal 100% for each 
plan. 

6. Installment plans must comply with all Louisiana statutes.  

7. Installment plans that are not structured according to the aforementioned 
guidelines may be subject to disapproval.  

 
Please refer to LDI Bulletin 09-04 Installment Plan Guidelines to provide further 
guidance. 

 
Risk Purchasing Group   

If a filing refers to a risk purchasing group, the following information should be 
included in the cover letter:   

1. A statement that a risk purchasing group will use the rates and rules.  

2. The name of the risk purchasing group that the filing is targeted towards.  

3. A statement verifying that the proposed rates were discussed with, 
negotiated with or agreed to by the risk purchasing group.  

*Note that a purchasing group must be licensed in the state of Louisiana to do 
business before rate/rules are submitted to the Office of Property & Casualty.  
  
Automobile Territory Rating  

 

The OPC will scrutinize geographic discontinuities in automobile territory 
factors. A single zip code which is rated as its own territory shall not be allowed 
unless supporting data is convincing.  
  

Terrorism Filings   
As outlined in Bulletin 02-03 and Bulletin 08-07, if an insurer relies on an 
advisory organization to file loss costs and related rating systems on its behalf, 
no rate filing is required unless an insurer plans to use a different loss cost 
multiplier than the multiplier currently on file for coverage of certified losses. 
The rate filings should provide sufficient information for the reviewer to 
determine what price would be charged to a business seeking to cover certified 
losses. Louisiana will accept filings that contain a specified percentage of 
premium to provide coverage for certified losses. Insurers may also choose to 
use rating plans that consider other factors such as geography, building profile, 
proximity to target risks and other reasonable rating factors. The insurer should 
state in the filing the basis that it has for selection of the rates and the rating 
systems that it chooses to apply. The supporting documentation should be 
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sufficient for the reviewer to determine if the rates are excessive, inadequate or 
unfairly discriminatory. Terrorism filings can only be filed for commercial 
products.  
 

Wrap Up Program Filings   
Wrap-Up insurance provides exposure coverage for a large group. Each member 
of the group is connected to other members by one or more common insuring 
characteristics. For example, a wrap-up policy can be written for all of the 
various businesses working together on a special project. Wrap-up insurance 
includes owner-controlled insurance programs.  

Wrap-up insurance rates and rules must be filed with and acknowledged by the 
OPC/commissioner before they can be used in Louisiana. A wrap-up insurance 
filing must adhere to directives contained in all LDI/OPC Bulletins and must 
conform to all Louisiana statutes.  

To avoid unnecessary delays in the approval process, a wrap-up filing must 
consider the following:   

1. Louisiana Revised Statute 23:1174.1 prohibits a wrap-up insurance program     
which discriminates “based upon the contractor’s or subcontractor’s securing 
the employer’s workers’ compensation obligation by any method provided 
for in La. R.S. 23:1168.”   

2. A wrap-up insurance program must neither take away nor reduce the right 
and ability for the individual contractor to choose the best method to insure 
the individual contractor’s risk.  

3. A wrap-up insurance program must allow for coordination of coverages 
between the wrap-up policy and the individual contractor policies without 
placing a burden upon the individual contractor or the contractor’s chosen 
insurer. A burden can exist when the wrap-up policy results in duplicate 
coverages or higher costs to the individual contractor.  

* Note that the rates cannot include ongoing maintenance and must be filed for 
each different location. Each separate program must have its own beginning and 
ending date.  
  
ADDITIONAL INFORMATION   
  
Title 22 Concordance Table    
  

Pursuant to Act 415, effective January 1, 2009, Title 22 of the Louisiana Revised   
Statutes was re-designated into a new format and number scheme. The 
Louisiana Department of Insurance’s Product Filing Matrix has been updated, as 
well as the LDI’s form letters. The new version of Title 22 of the Louisiana 
Revised Statutes is available on the Louisiana Legislative website at 
www.legis.la.gov.  

http://www.legis.la.gov/
http://www.legis.la.gov/
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 A Concordance Table has been developed and it can be accessed from the LDI 
website at http://www.ldi.la.gov/industry/laws-and-bulletins/insurance-law- 
(title-22).  

  
Product Coding Matrix (PCM)   
The LDI uses SERFF’s Product Coding Matrix (PCM) in SERFF. For detailed 
information on which Statement of Compliance to use from LDI’s Product Filing 
Matrix (PFM) for each SERFF PCM product, please see the “P&C Products LDI  
PFM Match to SERFF PCM Current 2-13-09” spreadsheet in the following link  
(Excel version may be easier to read).  
http://ia.ldi.state.la.us/ProductMatrix/Help.  

This spreadsheet also provides information regarding filing requirements for 
both rates/rules and forms, exceptions, certified form products, and lines of 
authority needed for each product.  

Public Records Requests  

Upon written request from the company, printed copies of approved/ 
acknowledged rate/rule filings may be obtained at a charge of $0.25 per page. 
Requests can also be made via the LDI’s website (www.ldi.la.gov) using the 
“Public Records Request” link.  An invoice will be provided and printed copies 
must be paid for prior to mailing. Payment must be in the form of a check or 
money order payable to the Louisiana Department of Insurance within fifteen 
(15) days of receipt of the invoice. Cash and credit cards cannot be accepted.  

Requests are handled on a first come first serve basis. A request for multiple 
filings and/or a large number of requests may delay an invoice. If you have not 
received an invoice within a week of your request, please contact the OPC at 
(225) 342-5203.  

The requestor may ask for the copy request to be emailed to him/her. There will 
be no charge for copies provided via email.  

Please be specific with your request and verify with OPC staff that the copies 
you are requesting are exactly what you need and that the amount you will be 
charged is acceptable.  

Anyone wishing to review filings at the LDI should make an appointment by 
calling (225) 342-5203.  

 
LDI/OPC EXHIBITS AND COMPONENTS   

This section provides a description of exhibits and components to be included in 
rate and rule filings. The following explanation and instructions are intended to 
assist a filer with compiling a filing packet and should expedite the 
acknowledgment process. However, the OPC realizes that a filer may need 

http://www.ldi.la.gov/industry/laws-and-bulletins/insurance-law-(title-22)
http://www.ldi.la.gov/industry/laws-and-bulletins/insurance-law-(title-22)
http://www.ldi.la.gov/industry/laws-and-bulletins/insurance-law-(title-22)
http://www.ldi.la.gov/industry/laws-and-bulletins/insurance-law-(title-22)
http://www.ldi.la.gov/industry/laws-and-bulletins/insurance-law-(title-22)
http://www.ldi.la.gov/industry/laws-and-bulletins/insurance-law-(title-22)
http://www.ldi.la.gov/industry/laws-and-bulletins/insurance-law-(title-22)
http://www.ldi.la.gov/industry/laws-and-bulletins/insurance-law-(title-22)
http://www.ldi.la.gov/industry/laws-and-bulletins/insurance-law-(title-22)
http://www.ldi.la.gov/industry/laws-and-bulletins/insurance-law-(title-22)
http://www.ldi.la.gov/industry/laws-and-bulletins/insurance-law-(title-22)
http://www.ldi.la.gov/industry/laws-and-bulletins/insurance-law-(title-22)
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http://ia.ldi.state.la.us/ProductMatrix/Help
http://ia.ldi.state.la.us/ProductMatrix/Help
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http://www.ldi.la.gov/
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http://www.ldi.la.gov/
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assistance or require special consideration in order to provide the OPC with the 
requested information. Questions regarding content or format should be 
directed to OPC staff.  

This section includes special OPC exhibits for personal lines that may be 
required to be included in a filing. Guidance as to whether to include these 
exhibits in a filing packet is found in the narrative of this document. Note that 
electronic versions of the data exhibits are available from the LDI’s website at 
http://www.ldi.la.gov/industry/form-and-rate-filing/p-c-rating-
filinghttp://www.ldi.la.gov/industry/form-and-rate-filing/p-c-rating-filing-
exhibitsexhibits.  

Cover Letter   

The cover letter for paper submissions should be constructed as follows:   

1. The cover letter should be sent to the attention of the deputy commissioner 
of the Office of Property and Casualty.  

2. The letter must be on official company or company group letterhead that 
includes the return address.  

3. The reference lines of the cover letter should include the following:   

Filer (name of company or companies affected by the filing).  

Line of Business (use annual statement, page 15, as a guide) or Louisiana 
Product Code   

a. It is advised that individual lines of business be filed separately. If 
multiple lines of business are included within a single filing, the OPC 
may request that they be separated.  

b. If an entire line of business is not affected by the filing, name the 
subprogram that the filing pertains to.  

c. If applicable, the risk purchasing group on whose behalf the filing is 
made.  

d. The company’s filing reference number.  
           Note: It is advised that unrelated programs be filed separately.  

4. The body of the cover letter should include:   

a. A brief statement as to the purpose of the filing. If the filing has been 
submitted to replace an existing filing, changes to the previously 
approved/acknowledged program should be clearly documented in 
the filing memorandum.  

b. The company should specify whether the filing is for a monoline 
program, a package program, or for both monoline and package 
programs. All filings are required to be submitted on a per program 
(monoline), per line of business basis. If the rates are different for the 
package program, then the company should file the program as a 

http://www.ldi.la.gov/industry/form-and-rate-filing/p-c-rating-filing-exhibits
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package. If the company will be using the same rates for both the 
monoline program and the package program, the company must 
submit the filing as monoline and state “this filing may also be used as 
a package program with the same rates and no modifications.”   

5. The signature section of the cover letter must include the contact person’s 
name, signature, phone number, fax number and email address.  

• Please note that a filing submitted via SERFF shall include a detailed 
explanation in the filing description which states that it is the 
company’s intent to file under the  File and Use provision. A thorough 
explanation of the filing should also be provided.  

Louisiana Experience Underlying Revision   

OPC Exhibit A.1 – A worksheet that illustrates the historical experience for the 
program affected by the filing.  

• Exhibit A.1 should be completed, regardless of how much business 
volume the filer has in Louisiana for the program. If no business has been 
written, place zeros (0) on the appropriate lines of the exhibit.  

• The exhibit should reflect the most current five (5) years of experience.  
• When filings are submitted between the months of April and December, the 

company must use the previous calendar year end as its most current 
year.  

Countrywide Experience Underlying Revision   

OPC Exhibit A.2 – A worksheet that shows historical experience for the program 
affected by the filing.    

• Exhibit A.2 is not required but may be requested by OPC staff. 
 

• Exhibit A.2 should be completed, regardless of how much business 
volume the filer has countrywide for the program. If no business has 
been written, place zeros (0) in the appropriate lines of the exhibit.  
 

• The exhibit should reflect the most current five (5) years of experience.  
 

• When filings are submitted between the months of April and December, 
the company must use the previous calendar year end as its most 
current year.  

    
Actuarial Checklist – Company Portion   
OPC Exhibit B - A tool used by both the insurer and the regulatory staff to verify 
that the filing has all of the requisite actuarial supporting documents. This 
checklist is required to be submitted with all property & casualty personal lines 
rate filings in Louisiana. It is optional for all other lines of business.  
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Adoption of Loss Costs  

OPC Exhibit C – Louisiana Loss Costs Multiplier Worksheet – Lines Other Than 
Workers’ Compensation should be completed, for lines other than workers’ 
compensation, when a filer is adopting or modifying a rating organization’s loss 
cost filing and is using an LCM.  
  
OPC Exhibit C-WC – Louisiana Loss Cost Multiplier Worksheet – Workers’ 
Compensation should be completed, only for a workers’ compensation rate 
filing, when a filer is adopting or modifying a rating organization’s workers’ 
compensation loss cost multipliers and/or factors and is using an LCM.  

Private Passenger Automobile Rating Illustration   

OPC Exhibit D – Private Passenger Automobile Rating Examples provides the 
criteria the companies are to use to compare the rates for seven (7) risk 
classifications in fourteen (14) Louisiana cities.  
  
OPC Exhibit D.1 – Private Passenger Automobile Rating Illustration provides the 
calculations for one of the ninety-eight (98) rates shown in Exhibit D.  
  
The OPC requires Exhibit D.1 for all rate revisions for private passenger 
automobile coverage.  

Homeowners Rating Illustration   

OPC Exhibit E – Homeowners Rating Examples provides the criteria the 
companies are to use to compare the rates for twelve (12) risk classifications in 
thirty (30) Louisiana cities.  
  
OPC Exhibit E.1 – Homeowners Rating Illustration provides the calculations for 
one of the three hundred sixty (360) rates shown in Exhibit E.  
     
The OPC requires Exhibit E.1 for all rate revisions for homeowner’s coverage.  
 
Louisiana Operating Results   
OPC Exhibit F - Louisiana Operating Results is an operating exhibit. It reflects 
the insurer’s profit or loss on business written in Louisiana.  

• The OPC may request Exhibit F when a company has Louisiana earned 
premium exceeding $6 million, in aggregate, over the most recent three (3) 
calendar years.  

• Exhibit F should reflect direct business only (i.e., not including any 
reinsurance). This includes reinsurance with third parties, as well as 
intercompany pooling arrangements within a company group.  
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• Exhibit F premium and loss experience should only reflect business affected 
by the filing. If this is not feasible, the filer should provide Exhibit F 
experience for the closest line or sub-line available and note this fact on the 
exhibit.  

• Exhibit F expense and income experience should reflect only the Louisiana 
business affected by the filing. If necessary, Louisiana expenses or income 
can be approximated from data aggregated at a higher level. Examples are 
countrywide experience, group experience, or annual statement line of 
business. If Louisiana expenses or income is approximated, it should be 
noted on the exhibit.  

• If more than one company is represented in the filing, Exhibit F should reflect 
the consolidated experience of all companies named in the filing. Though 
acceptable, Exhibit F can be submitted for each company individually as long 
as a consolidated Exhibit F is provided.  

• Exhibit F must include the most current ten (10) years of information. When 
filings are submitted between the months of April and December, the company 
must use the previous calendar year end as its most current year.  
  

Louisiana Rate Revision Questionnaire   
 
OPC Exhibit H – Louisiana Rate Revision Questionnaire breaks down the overall 
statewide average rate revision, by filing, into a distribution of policyholders 
across percent change increments.  

• Exhibit H must be submitted with all private passenger automobile, 
homeowner and medical professional liability rate revision filings.  

• For all other lines of business, Exhibit H must be submitted upon request of     
LDI.  

• Each increment represents the number of policyholders who would realize a 
change in premium within the incremental percentage range.  

• The increments flow from the minimum realized change to the maximum 
realized change in 5-point ranges.  

• When measuring the percent change on policyholder premiums, all proposed 
changes must be considered. This includes, but is not limited to, changes in 
base premiums, policy fees, limit tables, deductibles, etc.  

  

• The distribution should reflect the filer’s current book of business. If an 
accurate measure is not feasible, an estimate can be submitted. However, if 
estimates are used, the documentation should clearly reflect this fact.  
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Louisiana Rate Revision Questionnaire by Territory   

OPC Exhibit I – Louisiana Rate Revision Questionnaire by Territory displays, in 
tabular form, the effect that the overall statewide rate revision will have on each 
of the insurer’s territories.  
• Exhibit I must be completed for all private passenger automobile and 

homeowners' filings.  
• For all other lines of business, Exhibit I must be submitted upon 

departmental request.  
• Exhibit I must be completed for each company included in the filing.  

Louisiana Medical Malpractice Filing Questionnaire   

OPC Exhibit J – Louisiana Medical Malpractice Filing Questionnaire displays, in 
tabular form, the effect that the overall statewide rate revision will have on each 
of the insurer’s medical professional liability classifications.  
 
Catastrophe Model Interrogatories (LDI Bulletin 2013-04)   
   
The purpose of Bulletin No. 2013-04 is to provide assistance to all property and 
casualty insurers using catastrophe models to support proposed rates filed with 
the Louisiana Department of Insurance. While modeling specific to the 
hurricane peril is the focus of this bulletin, the guidance provided should be 
used for other perils where applicable. Completion and submission of the 
Catastrophe Model Interrogatories is mandatory when a personal lines rate 
filing relies on a catastrophe model(s) to support the proposed rates.  
  
Note that an electronic version of this bulletin and its corresponding exhibits can 
be found on the LDI website at 
https://www.ldi.la.gov/onlineservices/documentsearch/  
  
    
   

https://www.ldi.la.gov/onlineservices/documentsearch/
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