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WHY DO I NEED CAR INSURANCE?

Car insurance protects you if anything 
happens to you, your car, someone else 
or someone else’s car in the event of an 
accident. There are many different policies 
you can choose from, depending on what 
sort of coverage you want.

Liability Coverage pays claims if you are 
responsible for hurting another person or for 
damaging another person’s property.

Uninsured Motorists Coverage comes 
in two parts which must be purchased 
separately. If you are hit by someone who 
does not have insurance, Bodily Injury 
Coverage pays for your injuries, while 
Property Damage Coverage pays for damage 
done to your car.

Collision Coverage pays if your own car is 
damaged in a collision.

Comprehensive Coverage pays for damage 
to your car, such as theft, vandalism, glass 
breakage, etc.

Medical Expense Coverage pays medical 
expenses for you and your passengers.

WHAT IF I DON’T HAVE INSURANCE?

Auto insurance is required by law in 
Louisiana. If an officer stops you and you 
don’t have insurance, he can tow or impound 
your car. Not having insurance can also get 
you in trouble if you are in an accident, even 
if you are not at fault. According to Louisiana 
law, the other driver is not required to pay 
you the first $15,000 of damages resulting in 
bodily injury or the first $25,000 of property 
damages if you do not have insurance.

HOW DOES THE COMPANY 
DECIDE HOW MUCH MY

 POLICY WILL COST?

The cost, or premium, for your insurance is 
based on:

 ¾ Your driving record 
 ¾ The make, model and age of your car 
 ¾ Your age 
 ¾ Your gender 
 ¾ Where you live 
 ¾ Whether you are the primary or 

secondary driver of the car 
 ¾ How far you drive to and from school 

or work

WHEN I GET MY LICENSE, WILL MY 
PARENTS’ INSURANCE COVER ME?

When you get your license, your parents can 
add your name to their policy as an occasional 
driver because you’re driving their car. When 
you get a car of your own, you must be listed 
as the primary driver of that car. 

WHO DO I CONTACT IF I HAVE 
MORE QUESTIONS?

The Louisiana Department of Insurance is 
always available to answer any questions 
that you may have about your coverage or 
your policy. Contact us at 1-800-259-5300 or 
www.ldi.la.gov. 

In Louisiana, drivers 18-years-old and 
younger are not allowed to use a cell phone at 
all while driving. If caught using a cell phone, 
drivers will be ticketed and their licence 
can be suspended. Drivers 18-years-old and 
older are not allowed to use a cell phone for 
texting or social media sites. Anyone caught 
texting or accessing social media sites can be 
ticketed and accessed additional penalties. 

AM I ALLOWED TO USE MY CELL 
PHONE WHILE DRIVING?



If you don’t pay your premium, the company 
will cancel your policy. This may make it 
harder and more expensive to get a policy 
elsewhere. Some companies may give you 
the option of paying your premiums in 
installments, but you will be required to pay 
interest.

WHAT IF I DON’T PAY
 MY PREMIUM?

MY DAD TAUGHT ME TO DRIVE, 
 WHY DO I NEED DRIVER’S ED?

According to Louisiana law, you must take 
driver’s ed before you can get your license, if 
you are under 18. Although driver’s ed is not 
required after you turn 18, you may still want 
to enroll because many insurance companies 
offer lower costs for drivers who complete 
the course. 

IS IT TRUE THAT AS A FULL-TIME 
STUDENT WITH A “B” GPA, I WON’T

PAY AS MUCH FOR INSURANCE?

Maybe. Most Louisiana insurance companies 
give breaks to full-time students with a “B” 
grade point average or higher. Check with 
your agent to see if you qualify.

WHAT ELSE CAN I DO TO SAVE 
MYSELF A FEW DOLLARS?

You can lower your premiums by:

 ¾ Keeping a clean driving record

 ¾ Keeping a clear claims history

 ¾ Maintaining a good credit history

 ¾ Asking your agent about discounts

 ¾ Checking the premium rates before 
you buy a car.

CAN MY COMPANY CHARGE MORE FOR 
TICKETS OR MINOR WRECKS?

Your driving record is one of the main factors 
your company uses to determine your cost 
of insurance. They have a right to charge you 
more even if you’ve only had one moving 
violation or were involved in one accident 
in which you were more than 50 percent “at 
fault.”

CAN MY COMPANY CANCEL 
MY POLICY FOR TICKETS 

OR MINOR WRECKS?

Yes. Tickets and “at fault” accidents can 
seriously affect your insurance policy. Your 
driving record may affect the policies of your 
parents and siblings too. Even if you are on 
a different policy, their policies could be 
cancelled because of your driving record. 

I’M GOING TO COLLEGE IN 
ANOTHER STATE. 

ARE THERE ANY CHANGES I NEED TO 
MAKE TO MY INSURANCE? 

If you are not taking permanent residence in 
the other state or  have a good driving record 
and your insurance company has offices 
in the other state, most companies do not 
require you to make any changes to your 
policy. However, your rates can be affected 
by the area in which you live. Some areas 
have higher rates than others. Your premium 
will be adjusted to align with the new area’s 
standards.

IF I LET MY FRIEND DRIVE MY CAR 
AND HE HAS AN ACCIDENT, 

WILL HE BE COVERED?

As long as your friend has the owner’s 
permission to drive the car, he is covered 
under the owner’s policy. If you drive your 
parent’s  car, your friend must have their 
permission before he drives the car. Your 
permission is not good enough.

WHAT DO I DO IF I AM IN 
AN ACCIDENT?

 ¾ Call the police. 

 ¾ Make sure you get the other driver’s:
• Name
• Address
• Telephone Number
• License Plate Number
• Driver’s License Number
• Insurance Information

 ¾ Give the other driver the same 
information about you.

 ¾ Notify your insurance agent or company 
as soon as possible.

 ¾ Download the NAIC “Wreck Check”  
mobile app for iPhone and Android 
devices.

With most companies, you have the option 
of paying your premium every month, six 
months or 12 months. At the end of this time 
period, it is up to your insurance company to 
decide whether your policy will be continued.

HOW OFTEN DO I HAVE TO PAY 
MY PREMIUM?

 ¾ Teenage drivers have higher rates of fatal 
and nonfatal crashes compared to older 
drivers, and they are more likely to be at 
fault in their crashes.

 ¾ Teens are less likely to use safety belts, 
adding to the risk of fatal injuries.

 ¾ Crashes are the leading cause of death 
among teens, accounting for more than 
one third of all deaths of 16-18 year-olds.

 ¾ Drivers between ages 16-19 are more 
likely to speed, run red lights, make illegal 
turns and drive while under the influence. 

 ¾ Distractions caused by cell phone use, 
loud music and too many passengers are 
also factors in the high rate of crashes 
among teens.

WHY DO TEEN POLICIES COST 
SO MUCH?


