DonN't

Don't try to pay for your medical costs. They
will be paid through your company’s policy. If
you miss more than seven days of work and
are found eligible, you will receive compen-
sation for wages.

Do

Do remember most employees in Louisiana
are covered from the day they start employ-
ment. “Employees” may be full or part-time,
seasonal or minors. Sub-contractors may be
considered “employees” if they are involved
in the pursuit of the employer’s trade, busi-
ness or occupation. The law does contain
some limited exemptions.

DonN't

Don’t forget that workers’ compensation also
provides benefits to dependents of workers
who die after work-related accidents.

Do

Do remember that the law covers both mental
and physical harm from either accidents or
occupational diseases. However, mental in-
jury must be the result of a physical injury or of
a sudden, unexpected, and extraordinary
stress related to employment. In either case,
this must be proven by clear and convincing
evidence.

DonN't

Don’tworry if you do notimmediately receive
a check from the insurance company. There is
a seven-day waiting period between the time
you file your claim and receive your check.
However, if you are off work more than 42 cal-
endar days, you will receive compensation for
the first seven days after the injury date.

Do

Do check to see if your injury or iliness is cov-
ered. Ifitis, you should receive a check from
the insurance company or from your own self-
insured employer within 14 days after the in-

jury.

DonN't

Don't settle your claim unless you are com-
pletely satisfied with the settlement. You may
enter into a lump sum or compromise settle-
ment upon agreement of all the parties and
with the approval of a Workers’ Compensa-
tion judge.

Do

Do contact the Louisiana Department of
Insurance toll-free at 1-800-259-5300, or in
Baton Rouge at 225-342-1258, if you have a
problem with your claim. Visit our Web site at
www.ldi.state.la.us
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Do

Do seek first aid and medical attention. Re-
member that delays can affect not only your
health but also possible compensation ben-
efits.

DonN't

Don’'t wait several days or even hours to
report your claim.

Do

Do report your accident or ailment immedi-
ately to your supervisor if you are hurt at work
or becomeiill (because of what you thinkis a
work-related exposure). Generally, you must
report the injury within 30 days to be eligible
for benefits.

DonN't

Don’t report the injury to the insurance com-
pany if you reported the injury to your employer.

Do

Do make sure your employer reports the in-
jury to its insurance company, or internal claims
office if the employer is self-insured, and to
the Office of Workers’ Compensation.

DonN't

Don't feel that just because the injury was not
your company’s fault it is not covered by work-
ers’ compensation. Workers’ compensation
insurance provides medical care, death ben-
efits, disability payments and rehabilitation. It
covers job-related injuries regardless of fault.

Do

Do know that no compensation will be given if
the injury was caused by the employee’s will-
ful intention to injure himself or another em-
ployee; by the employee’s deliberate failure
to use adequate protection that was provided
to him; or by the injured employee’s intoxica-
tion at the time of the injury, unless resulting
from activities in which the employer procured
and encouraged the use of an alcoholic bev-
erage.

DonN't

Don’t assume you are covered under work-
ers’ compensation. The law does contain
some limited exemptions. Domestic employ-
ees; most real estate salespersons; uncom-
pensated officers and directors of certain non-
profit organizations; and public officials are
specifically exempted. Most volunteer workers
are not entitled to benefits.

Do

Do remember that if you are the aggressor in
an unprovoked fight you may not be entitled to
benefits. This may also apply ifitis determined
that you were a participant in “horseplay” at
the time of your injury.

DonN't

Don't forget that claims for medical benefits
generally must be filed within one year of the
date of the accident causing the injury. How-
ever, if your employer or its insurance com-
pany has paid medical expenses, the period
for a claim is extended to three years from the
last payment of a medical benefit.

Do

Do make sure you have prior approval from
your employer, or its insurance carrier, for any
cost above a total of $750 per provider, for
the doctor you select in your specialized field.
This limit applies to doctors, hospital services,
prescriptions, physical therapy, laboratory
tests, etc...

DonN't

Don'tforget to turn in an examination by a phy-
sician if it is required by your employer. Fail-
ure to submit any reasonable examination may
cause your compensation payments to sus-
pend until an examination takes place.

Do

Do check to see if you are eligible for any ad-
ditional compensation for permanent disabil-
ity, such as the loss of an arm or leg. This is
usually determined after you return to work or
the healing period ends.



